The 2024 Copa America tournament is coming to the USA for the second time in the competition’s history. Rumors surfaced in recent months that the competitors included the USMNT after US midfielder Tyler Adams dropped a major hint.

Hosting was a possibility. Now, it is a reality.

CONMEBOL and CONCACAF have officially announced an agreement for the 2024 version of the Copa America. In the partnership, all 10 CONMEBOL teams will play in the tournament Stateside. This includes Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Along with these nations, six CONCACAF teams will also take part in the tournament.

Six CONCACAF nations involved in 2024 Copa America in USA

The six CONCACAF teams will have to qualify for the competition through the 2023/24 Nations League. That includes the USMNT, despite the fact the United States is hosting the tournament. That edition of the Nations League starts this fall.

“CONMEBOL and CONCACAF are united by historical and affective ties,” explained CONMEBOL president Alejandro Dominguez. “But above all, we are united by the passion, characteristic of all the Americas, for football and sports.”

“We are determined to renew and expand our joint initiatives and projects. We want this passion to translate into more and better competitions and for football and its values to grow and strengthen throughout the hemisphere. Without a doubt, both confederations believe in big and we will work with this orientation.”

Fans in the United States that want to watch can do so on FOX Sports and TUDN. FOX has many of the international rights for American TV coverage, and you can watch on fuboTV or other streaming providers that carry the channels.

Watch 2024 Copa America on fuboTV

Includes: Premier League, Gold Cup and more

7-Day Free Trial


Women’s Gold Cup will also include CONMEBOL teams

The agreement between the two confederations also involves women’s soccer, as well. CONCACAF invited CONMEBOL’s top four national teams to compete in the 2024 Women’s Gold Cup. These four teams are Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, and Paraguay. The United States hosts this tournament, in addition to the 2024 Copa America.

“This is a partnership to support the ongoing growth of men’s and women’s football in CONCACAF and CONMEBOL and will truly be a mutual benefit to both confederations,” proclaimed CONCACAF president Victor Montagliani.

“Working hand in hand with CONMEBOL, we will deliver elite competitions that will provide more opportunities for our federations, and that we know passionate fans want to see. We look forward to working together to ensure that football in both regions continues to thrive.”

New club tournament in the works

Along with the Copa America and Women’s Gold Cup, CONACAF and CONMEBOL will also introduce a new club tournament. This competition will feature the top two clubs from each confederation in a final four showdown. Details of the new tournament finalize in the near future. However, plans are to play this competition in 2024, as well.

PHOTO: IMAGO / Sports Press Photo