Gareth Southgate has finally named his England 26-man squad for the 2022 World Cup. After a fairly successful run in the 2020 Euros, Southgate will look to keep the ball rolling in Qatar.

Stars such as Harry Kane, Bukayo Saka, Jude Bellingham, and Phil Foden all highlight a talented England team. Kane, 29, will captain the squad and it will be his second World Cup appearance for England. The young talented trio of Saka, Bellingham, and Foden should be mainstays in Southgate’s starting XI throughout the tournament.

The manager also made some major calls when it came to his final World Cup roster. Southgate ultimately chose James Maddison over Jarrod Bowen and Callum Wilson instead of Ivan Toney.

Maddison fully deserves to be included in squad

Leicester City’s Maddison has been one of the more productive Premier League attacking midfielders this season. The 25-year-old playmaker has racked up six goals and four assists in a dozen league games for his club. Maddison has always proven himself on the pitch, but he has somehow not been involved with the England national team in three years.

The Wilson vs. Toney decision was perhaps one of Southgate’s toughest calls. Newcastle’s Wilson has six goals and two assists in 10 matches with the third-placed Magpies. Toney, on the other hand, has eight goals and two assists in 13 league games with Brentford.

Phillips recovers from injury in time for World Cup

Kalvin Phillips was one of the more surprising call-ups for the England team. The midfielder has been out of action for two months because of a shoulder injury. In fact, he has only played one minute of Premier League play during the current campaign.

Arsenal’s Ben White was also rewarded for his stellar performances at right back this season. England have had injury issues at the position and White’s versatility could come in handy for Southgate.

Full England squad for the 2022 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Eric Dier (Tottenham), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Conor Coady (Everton), Ben White (Arsenal), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount (Chelsea) Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City).

Forwards: James Maddison (Leicester), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).