The UEFA European Championship TV schedule regularly features the top teams in the world battling it out for a major international trophy. Commonly referred to as just the Euros, many see the European Championship as the best international trophy available after the World Cup.

In the United States, coverage of the European Championship belongs to FOX and its channels. However, the broadcaster has sublicensed games from the European Championship and qualifiers to Fubo. For the tournament proper in the summer of 2024, the majority of games are available on the FOX broadcast channel. Twenty-nine of the 51 games in Germany will air on FOX, with an additional 17 available on Fox Sports 1. The other five games of the tournament are streaming exclusively on Fubo, and that applies to select group-stage matches.

In addition to having exclusive games, Fubo carries FOX, FS1 and FS2. Therefore, it is the most sensible English-language streaming option to watch the European Championship and qualifiers.

Lastly, for Spanish-language coverage of the Euros, ViX will have every game streaming, with select games televised on TUDN, Unvision, and UniMás.

Watch UEFA European Championship on Fubo

Our Pick:

Includes: Premier League, Liga MX, Ligue 1, + 84 Sports Channels

7-Day Free Trial

UEFA European Championship TV schedule

The European Championship TV schedule became visible following the draw for the tournament. UEFA divided the 24 teams into six groups of four, and fans immediately learned the full schedule. For the first two matchdays of Euro 2024, there are no overlapping games. However, as seen with the schedule below, there are simultaneous kickoffs in matchday three, with both games in each group happening at the same time.

    TV coverage crews for Euro 2024

    FOX’s coverage of the European Championship is the first for the channel. However, it is calling upon familiar voices with experience in the World Cup, Women’s World Cup, Copa America and the UEFA Champions League.

    FOX has four play-by-play commentators for the tournament. Ian Darke will take many of the top games, but Derek Rae, Jacqui Oatley and Darren Fletcher are the other commentators. The in-game analysts for FOX are Landon Donovan, Robert Green, Warren Barton and Owen Hargreaves. The in-studio coverage team is also talented. Jules Breach will serve as the host, while Ariane Hingst, Giorgio Chiellini, Daniel Sturridge, Peter Schmeichel and Stu Holden will dip in as analysts.

    Additionally, Maurice Edu and Alexi Lalas will be helping FOX’s coverage. However, these two former USMNT players are also serving analysis on the Copa America. Therefore, their input may be reserved for games later in the tournament.

    The Euros

    Based on the name, it only consists of teams in Europe. However, with an expansion to 24 teams in the tournament proper in 2016, and 53 teams vying to qualify, the Euros encapsulate many of the game’s recognizable names. Many of those teams are among the elites of the world, not just in the continent.

    Spain, Italy, Germany, France and Portugal all won the tournament within the last seven editions. The first four of those are the only nations to have won multiple European Championships.

    The draw for Euro 2024 happened on December 2, 2023. As seen, the group stage is full of intriguing matchups on seemingly every day of the tournament.

    History of the European Championship

    Before there was a true European-wide competition, there were regional competitions for national teams. English, Scottish, Welsh and Irish national teams competed annually in the British Home Championship since the tournament’s inception in 1883. Six editions of the Central European International Cup played out over the same duration (1927-1960). Several national teams participated, including those from Austria, Hungary, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Switzerland and Yugoslavia.

    The origins of the European Championship trace back to the early 1960s. Henri Delaunay, secretary-general of the French Soccer Federation, first introduced the concept of a pan-European soccer tournament in 1927. However, it was not until 1958—three years after Delaunay’s death—that the competition began.

    Spain and Germany are the only two countries to have won the European Championship three times.
    Spain and Germany are the only two countries to have won the European Championship three times.

    Spain and Germany are the only two countries to have won the European Championship three times.

    In 1960, the UEFA European Soccer Championship was formally announced, with the first competition scheduled for the same year. Four countries qualified for the 1960 finals, which were held in France: Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, the Soviet Union and France.

    With Yugoslavia downed 2-1 in the championship match, the Soviet Union won the knockout format competition. The 1960 European Championship’s structure and achievements served as a model for subsequent championships.

    Inaugural tournament and how it came to be

    The European Championship experienced multiple format changes over time. Originally known as the European Nations’ Cup, it was slated to take place in the even-numbered year in between World Cup competitions. In 1968, it changed to its current name.

    That year, the tournament marked a historic moment. For the first and only time, a coin toss determined a fixture. This occurred during the semi-final clash between Italy and the Soviet Union. To accommodate more competitors, the event expanded in the late 1970s from its original knockout structure, which only allowed four teams to compete.

    The Yugoslavian tournament of 1976 was the last to require the hosts to qualify and the last to feature only four teams in the championship round. When the group stage was first used in 1980, it increased the drama and competitiveness.

    UEFA Euro: 21 century and modern history

    The European Championship kept changing as soccer’s appeal grew throughout the world. In 1996, the competition added a 16-team division for even further expansion. The European Championship in 2000 made history because it was the first to feature co-hosts. The Netherlands and Belgium both hosted games that year. In 2012, the format came back. Poland and Ukraine both hosted games. Euro 2020 took it to the maximum as 11 countries hosted games during the competition.

    Italy won the most expansive European Championship in history when it was in 11 different countries.
    Italy won the most expansive European Championship in history when it was in 11 different countries.

    Italy won the most expansive European Championship in history when it was in 11 different countries.

    “UEFA Euro” is the name each competition has used since 1996. The Football Association of Scotland and Ireland suggested adding 24 teams to the competition in 2007.

    The winner of the European Championship earns the Henri Delaunay Trophy. This commemorates the first General Secretary of UEFA. It was Delaunay who originally proposed the idea for a European tournament.

    Soccer’s lasting influence on the development of European culture is exemplified by the European Championship’s history, which continues to enthrall viewers throughout the globe.


    Euro 2024

    Here are some resources to get you ready for Euros!
    Euro Bracket: Download a free PDF bracket for the tournament
    Euro 2024 Schedule: Full schedule of all games for the 2024 tournament
    How to watch: Information on where to find the games on TV and streaming
    How to Stream Learn how you can stream Euro games live in 2024
    2024 Soccer Calendar: Get the lowdown on what will be a busy year in soccer