Argentina vs. Germany: By The Numbers

The winners of the 20th FIFA World Cup will be decided in a mouth-watering clash between two giants of international football in the historic Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro. Between them, Argentina and Germany have won 5 World Cup tournaments and both teams make part of the relatively short list of 8 nations that have won football’s greatest prize.

The three nations in this list hailing from South America (Brazil, Argentina & Uruguay) have won the World Cup a combined nine times. The other five nations in this list are Europeans (Germany, Italy, Spain, France & England) and overall they have 10 such titles to their name. A victory for Argentina in Rio will tie the score between both continents.

Argentina and Germany will be participating in the same World Cup final for a record third time. Maradona and co. won in the 1986 World Cup in Mexico by 3-2 thanks to goals from Jose Luis Brown, Jorge Valdano and Jorge Burruchaga. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Rudi Voller completed the scoring.

Four years later, both teams clashed once more in Italy during an ill-tempered affair with a controversial penalty converted by Andreas Brehme deciding the contest.

World Cup Matches Between Argentina & Germany

Argentina – (West) Germany
Sweden 1958
Group Stage
1 – 3

England 1966
Group Stage
0 – 0

Mexico 1986
3 – 2

Italy 1990
0 – 1

Germany 2006
1 – 1 (Germany win 4-2 on pens)

South Africa 2010
0 – 4

Both nations have met each other six times in a World Cup competition whereby two matches were played in the group stage, another two matches were quarter-finals and the rest were the above-mentioned finals. Argentina have so far been victorious only once. However, significantly, this was the only time both nations played a World Cup game in the American continents as Diego Maradona lifted the prestigious trophy in Mexico City.

Argentina-Germany head-to-head encounters in World Cup History:

Pld W D L F A GD
Argentina 6 1 2 3 5 11 -6
Germany 6 3 2 1 11 5 +6

The most recent encounter between La Albiceleste and Die Mannschaft was four years ago where Joachim Loew’s team annihilated Maradona’s disorganized side that was full of talent but severely lacking any tactical nous and leadership from their head coach. The front three of Lionel Messi, Gonzalo Higuain and Carlos Tevez were isolated from the rest of the team as the German machine mercilessly ripped apart through the heart of the Argentinean defense time and time again. Out of Germany’s starting eleven from that day in the Green Point Stadium, ten have played in Brazil in the past month. Many feel that this German side has finely matured enough to final deliver another World Cup trophy, having reached the final in 2002 and the semi-finals in the following two tournaments.

Pages 1 2 3

Leave a Reply