THURS, 1PM ET
LIL0
EVE0
THURS, 1PM ET
LIE0
SEV0
THURS, 3PM ET
TOT5
TRI1
THURS, 3PM ET
INT0
ETI0
THURS, 3PM ET
VIL4
ZUR1
THURS, 3PM ET
MON5
APO0

WATCH Did Liverpool Striker Luis Suarez Dive to Win a Penalty Against Villa? [GIF]

luis suarez WATCH Did Liverpool Striker Luis Suarez Dive to Win a Penalty Against Villa? [GIF]

With Aston Villa leading 2-1 at Anfield in the second half, Liverpool striker Luis Suarez had a one-on-one opportunity to score against Villa with goalkeeper Brad Guzan rushing out to try to stop the shot, but Suarez went down in the box and the Reds were awarded a penalty kick, which Steven Gerrard calmly slotted into the back of the net.

But should the penalty have been awarded to Liverpool? Did Guzan make contact with Suarez, or did Suarez dive to win the penalty for the Reds?

Watch the GIF below and then share your opinion in the comments section below.

luis suarez penalty incident WATCH Did Liverpool Striker Luis Suarez Dive to Win a Penalty Against Villa? [GIF]

This entry was posted in Leagues: EPL, Liverpool, Luis Suarez. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

33 Responses to WATCH Did Liverpool Striker Luis Suarez Dive to Win a Penalty Against Villa? [GIF]

  1. Yeah, Chomp-Chomp sold it, but Brad Guzan didn’t exactly cover himself in glory there. Not surprised it was called.

  2. CTBlues says:

    He must be trying out to make a second trip to Brazil in 2016.

  3. Nicodemus says:

    Agreed. It’s a dive, but if Guzan doesn’t dive in so enthusiastically he doesn’t force the trailing referee to make such a difficult decision. UTV!

  4. Mufc77 says:

    Stevie wonder could see that was a dive.

  5. Christopher Harris says:

    Both NBC analysts said that it wasn’t a dive and that Guzan made contact.

  6. Tony Butterworth says:

    From this angle Guzan seems to flick his arm up at just the right moment for the fall.

    • Ben says:

      What the hell are you watching? His upper arm is clamped to his side yes is lower arm moves slightly but never comes close!

  7. suhaimi says:

    Guzan’s momentum did not help. He did touch Suarez and any player would have fallen. The referee thought it was a penalty! End of story! No need to speculate whether he dived or not because throughout the game Suarez had been clean!

  8. Paul says:

    My take for what it’s worth:

    Don’t believe there was any contact BUT I would expect any striker worth anything at all to do the same in those circumstances – what the hell on earth Guzan was doing out that far is beyond me. He handed it to Suarez on a plate.

    Luis is a player you love if he’s on your team and I realise he’s got plenty of history to make people dislike him… but today? That’s just a standard part of today’s game. Januzaj, Oscar, Young, Valencia… it’s hardly a Suarez-only trick.

    • Brandon Kilgore says:

      I agree that Guzan had no business being that far from goal, but to say “any striker worth anything” would take such a blatant dive in the situation is homer-ific.

      • Eddie says:

        Wrong. Just about every striker does it, not just those mentioned by Paul. Shane Long is an expert at falling over when being brushed in the box, yet people never go after him.

    • dust says:

      Unless its against LFC in a pivotal game i bet. There is NO excuse for the continual diving, its just wrong, its cheating, the fact there was contact does not mean its a penalty either.

      The game is going to s**t for sure if that even comes sloes to being argued as a penalty, same as Guzan coming out, he has every right to come out and challenge for the ball and yes even make contact.

      No where isn FIFA law does it say that a goalkeeper can’t challenge for a ball but NOT make contact.

      Sterling, Suarez, Sturridge all full on consistent cheats, that is the reality. Villa deserved the 3 points. I remember the posts from LFC fans on this board when Man Utd did it at Anfield…completely diff reaction.

      is wrong and fans accepting it b/cit benefits them is a slippery slope.

      • Paul says:

        If the keeper goes for the ball that far out, he might want to actually get the ball. If the player gets the ball (as Suarez did), there’s no hope for the keeper and it’ll be a pen all day long.

        Nothing worse in this type of situation than self righteous fans of other teams coming out in full force. Fact is, it’s a fickle game and if a player on your team got you a pen you’d find yourself not having much to say. If any striker didn’t go down in that situation I’d be shocked.

  9. Guy says:

    I think Luis just found out that if he falls only occasionally he is more likely to get the call. It seems to me he has been staying upright a whole lot more. He may actually be getting smarter.

    If I’m a ‘Pool fan, “That’s my boy!”

  10. abdirahman says:

    Watching fanzone and studio guest stoke city keeper “begovich” says It was clear dive and the ref should have booked suarez. Didn’t watch the game but looking right now i agree that was no where near penalty atleast liverbool didn’t win the game.

  11. Ben says:

    What a horrendous dive from a terrible human being.

  12. Molly says:

    If you watch this carefully, you will see that Suárez makes no attempt to plant his left foot. In fact he lifts it. It’s a dive

  13. De Selby says:

    of course it’s a dive. it’s a shame he can’t be retroactively punished. maybe one day.

  14. abdirahman says:

    I realy wonder some times what some people are saying liverbool funs aroud the world are claiming it was penalty and ref should have awarded another penalty for macuna’s handball. Is this a support or?

    • De Selby says:

      and you are the person who, with the first comment in the gameweek 22 thread, was complaining about pochettino not speaking english? real nice.

  15. abdirahman says:

    I realy wonder some times what some people are saying liverbool funs aroud the world are claiming it was penalty and ref should have awarded another penalty for macuna’s handball. And it was dive! Is this a support or?

  16. Jim says:

    Gary Linekar has also said it was not a dive and that because there was contact it was a penalty.

    In real time it looked a certain penalty which is what the official saw as well. The replay showed that the contact wasn’t as strong as it looked in real time.

  17. abdirahman says:

    Yep! Delseby.nothing else frustrates me only time consuming if yu watch his pre match talk today just before the match stars it takes four minutes to complete his interview because there was two persons that were speaking him and his translator. and compare gus poyet which was 1 and 20 second. And he has been here 1 year. For me its astonishing!

    • DeadBeatBert says:

      Gus Poyet started playing in England for Chelsea in ’98. He’s old school.

      Not saying Suarez shouldn’t learn the language, mind.

  18. Ken says:

    Don’t let the dive take anything away from a poor mediocre Liverpool performance which shows exactly why they’ll not get top 4.

  19. R2 Dad says:

    The key is his left leg. Watch the left leg. There is no explanation for the folding of that leg. Without the left leg folding, there is no reason for the right leg to stop running. Easy to determine here in slow motion, but obviously difficult in real time so I don’t blame the officials. However, contact does not necessitate a foul just because it occurred in the box.

  20. James says:

    Should be a submarine captain ….DIVE DIVE DIVE

  21. sam kern says:

    Shearer: ‘Well he didn’t pull his arms away because his arms are out there. But the contact wasn’t with his arm – it was actually Guzan’s right foot onto Suarez’s right knee. And that’s what the contact was there for. And I don’t expect Suarez to jump over that.’

    Lineker: ‘It’s a totally different thing to getting no contact and flinging yourself on the floor.
    Shearer: ‘Absolutely right then it’s a blatant dive. That wasn’t there, was contact. No dive. And a penalty.

  22. phil says:

    This is why they are called Poofballers.
    Absolutely shocking to call Suarez a sportsman

  23. JEFF says:

    When the keeper comes out and goes towards Suarez ,Suarez touches the ball and they are both moving in the same direction where the keeper actually ties to tilt his body away from Suarezs legs ,when he does this Suarezs then dives.Very clever but cheating and the camera replay should have been used.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>