Connect with us

Clint Dempsey

Dempsey’s Foul: The Wrong Call


As much as I enjoy Kartik’s writing and analysis, let me add a counter-point on this.  The referee clearly blew this call, and there are no rules of the game or replay angels that would ever indicate otherwise.

That being said, I try not to get fussed about blown calls.  Soccer is a game of blown calls, and nobody knows that better than me.  I referee in our local AYSO league, and probably understand the game better than most of the coaches and 95% of the parents in our league.  Nevertheless, I blow at least one call every game.  Most of them are completely inconsequential to the outcome, but they all plague me like a bad ache.  Truthfully, the game is too fast, the field is too big, and the in-or-out, fair-or-foul differences are too narrow for any referee to be anything close to flawless.

Nevertheless, the Dempsey’s pass was fair but the call was foul.  The rule the Kertik quoted starts off “The act of charging an opponent.”  This is the end of the argument.  Dempsey was never charging the opponent.  He was charging the ball, connected with the ball, and while his studs were up, neither of his feet ever came in contact with the defender.  He had kicked the ball away and was actually twisting his body away from the contact when the defender tripped over Dempsey’s knee.  On a compass, Dempsey was running, diving and kicking west to east while the defender was coming, fractionally late, north to south.  It was a rush to the ball, and Dempsey got to it first and kicked it away cleanly before the contact was made.

The referee was guilty of the most common mistake that referees make – anticipating a foul that never occurs and calling what could have happened rather than what actually did happen.   I am sure the referee saw Dempsey dive in with his studs up and contact coming, and his mind registered a foul that never actually occurred.  This mistake happens a lot, and when it happens in the middle of the field, it rarely has a giant impact on the game.  This time, the impact was huge and the US lost a goal, and could have lost two points in the hex because of it.

Fortunately, the US did get all three points, and this blown call is a talking point rather than a travesty.

200+ Channels With Sports & News
  • Starting price: $33/mo. for fubo Latino Package
  • Watch Premier League, World Cup, Euro 2024 & more
  • Includes NBC, USA, FOX, ESPN, CBSSN & more
Live & On Demand TV Streaming
  • Price: $35/mo. for Sling Blue
  • Watch Premier League, World Cup & MLS
  • Includes USA, NBC, FOX, FS1 + more
Many Sports & ESPN Originals
  • Price: $6.99/mo. (or get ESPN+, Hulu & Disney+ for $13.99/mo.)
  • Features Bundesliga, LaLiga, Championship, & more
  • Also includes daily ESPN FC news & highlights show
2,000+ soccer games per year
  • Price: $4.99/mo
  • Features Champions League, Serie A, Europa League & NWSL
  • Includes CBS, Star Trek & CBS Sports HQ
175 Premier League Games & PL TV
  • Starting price: $4.99/mo. for Peacock Premium
  • Watch 175 exclusive EPL games per season
  • Includes Premier League TV channel plus movies, TV shows & more



  1. Patrick Johnson

    September 9, 2009 at 11:36 am

    According to FIFA mandates, using the studs up is not considered charging the opponent.

    Do the world a favor and stop blogging on this sport. It is clear you know nothing about it.

    • Rex

      September 9, 2009 at 6:13 pm

      What are you talking about? Please explain. Don’t just give us one sentence, then attack the author. Please offer us a counter view and educate us. Let us know why you seem to think you know something about the sport.

  2. Adam Edg

    September 9, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Great analysis. The commentators for the match said that CONCACAF had officials there to evaluate the refs during the game. That ref may have just blown his career with that poor call; even more so had we lost or tied because of it…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Clint Dempsey

Translate »