By Josh Harris.

Nickname: Spurs, or the Lilywhites.

City: Located in north London.

Spurs were founded in 1882 and have played at White Hart Lane since 1899. White Hart Lane, known as ‘The Lane’ to most Spurs fans, holds over 36,000 spectators.

Tottenham’s kit has been predominantly white throughout most of their history.

The club’s most famous manager is Bill Nicholson, who changed the way the club played soccer by bringing a fast passing game to White Hart Lane. Under Nicholson, Tottenham won the top flight league in England, the FA Cup and Charity Shield in 1961. In 1963, the club won the European Cup Winners’ Cup.

Arch-Enemy: Tottenham’s North London neighbors and fierce rivals are Arsenal. In 1919, Arsenal only finished in fifth place in Division Two, but were dubiously elected to rejoin the First Division at the expense of local rivals Tottenham Hotspur.

Famous Players: Tottenham have many well known players from the past including: Martin Chivers, Ricky Villa, Les Allen, Paul Allen, Darren Anderton, Paul Gascoigne, Jimmy Greaves, Ledley King, Glenn Hoddle, Gary Lineker, Jimmy Dimmock, John White, Martin Peters, Steve Perryman, Teddy Sheringham, Chris Waddle, David Ginola, Steffen Freund, Chris Hughton and many more.

Honors: In the club’s history, Spurs have won the First Division twice, the Second Division twice, the Southern League once, the Western League once,  the FA Cup eight times, the League Cup four times, the FA Charity Shield seven times and in Europe they won the UEFA Cup twice and the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup once.

Fun Fact: The club’s motto is Audere est Facere (“To Dare Is to Do”). Also, when Spurs won the FA Cup in 1901, they were the only non-league club to win the competition after the formation of the Football League in 1888.

Read the latest Tottenham Hotspur articles.

25+ Channels With Sports & News
  • Starting price: $33/mo. for fubo Latino Package
  • Watch Premier League, Liga MX, MLS & World Cup
  • Includes ESPN, FOX, Univision, TUDN and more
Favorite Leagues At The Best Price
  • Starting price: $7.99/mo. for Live TV Package
  • Watch Argentine league, Brasileirāo and Copa Libertadores
  • Includes beIN SPORTS, GolTV, TyC Sports and more
Many Sports & ESPN Originals
  • Price: $6.99/mo. (or get ESPN+, Hulu & Disney+ for $13.99/mo.)
  • Features LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, Copa del Rey & more
  • Also includes daily ESPN FC news & highlights show
Live TV, Soccer & Originals
  • Starting price: $4.99/mo.
  • Features Champions League, Serie A, Europa League & more
  • Includes CBS, Star Trek & CBS Sports HQ
175 Premier League Games & PL TV
  • Starting price: $4.99/mo. for Peacock Premium
  • Watch 175 exclusive EPL games per season
  • Includes Premier League TV channel plus movies, TV shows & more
Get All 3 And Save 30%
  • $13.99/mo. for ESPN+, Disney+ & Hulu
  • Includes Bundesliga, LaLiga, NHL & the home to UFC
  • Features Marvel, Star Wars + shows & movies for your entire family