What's New

Who Will Cash-Strapped Chelsea Sell This Summer?

Chelsea announced a £65.7m loss for last year, a staggering sum, particularly as it marks an improvement over the loose-pursed past.  Though the tangible sum is less, the impact will be felt more, after Roman Abramovich as billionaire Roman Abramovich potentially lost the bulk of his fortune.  Abramovich’s woes have […]

Chelsea Sack Scolari — Bring on Zola !

A strange turn of events at Chelsea where Luiz Felipe Scolari has been sacked and Avram Grant, the man Scolari replaced, has emerged as one of the candidates on Chelsea’s shortlist to replace the former World Cup-winning manager. Whether Grant gets the job is purely speculation but it’s just another […]

Why Abramovich May Really Have Sacked Scolari

I can sum up in two words why Roman Abramovich may have sacked Luiz Felipe Scolari: Aston Villa. Seeing Aston Villa in third place, two points ahead of Chelsea, must have been eating Abramovich up. Here’s this Russian oil tycoon who has spent hundreds of millions of pounds to try […]

Chelsea Sack Scolari

Luiz Felipe Scolari has been sacked by Chelsea. The last straw for Chelsea FC was the club’s uninspiring 0-0 draw at home against Hull City. The draw pushed Chelsea further behind in the league title race after Liverpool and Manchester United both recorded wins. The club are now seven points […]

Chelsea In Trouble

   Late Liverpool Halt Chelsea’s Faltering Challenge It’s a cold Sunday afternoon and I’ve parked my backside on the sofa to watch Liverpool vs Chelsea, a clash of the title contenders. Man United’s ominous form coupled with their rivals inability to keep pace means we all know that the team that loses Sunday’s game is […]

Chelsea Need To Exorcise Mourinho’s Demons

In life, attitude is everything. You can be one of the most gifted artists in the world, but unless you’re willing to work hard and have the right attitude, your chance of success is slim. The same applies to football. A perfect example of this is at Stamford Bridge where […]

Scolari Is God, Benitez Is The Devil

It’s so rare these days that a football manager says anything new or remotely intelligent other than the rehearsed lines he memorizes from media training. Other than Joe Kinnear, of course. But Chelsea manager Luiz Felipe Scolari said so many refreshing things on Friday that I felt compelled to write […]

Phil Scolari Set to Sign…Everyone

Portugal manager Luiz Felipe Scolari stirred the footballing pot when Chelsea announced an agreement with him to become their next manager, at the termination of his Portugal contract after Euro 2008. Throwing even more chum into the water, are the ever truthful transfer magicians, who now have just about everyone […]

What's Rising

UEFA Cup Map

Bill Turianski of billsportsmaps.com has created a map for all of the clubs involved in the UEFA Cup group stage. With that competition starting up today, I thought it was a good time to post this resource. Click the thumbnail below to view a larger version. Likes(0)Dislikes(0)

Wayne Rooney fit to face West Brom after injury scare; Carrick remains sidelined

Manchester United manager Louis van Gaal has confirmed Wayne Rooney is fit to face West Brom on Saturday. There had been serious concern around Old Trafford that Rooney had suffered a season-ending injury against Everton last Sunday. Initial tests on his knee were inconclusive, and Rooney was deemed fit enough to travel to […]

Recent Comments

Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules

* indicates required

What's Hot

Cristiano Ronaldo is determined to mask his decline

Earlier last week, Brazilian legend Ronaldinho left yet another club by mutual agreement. The story was like every other. After an initial bout of optimism, his time at the club (in this case, Fluminense) quickly turned tumultuous, and a split was in the best interest of both parties. It’s the […]

Review: Honigstein’s ‘Das Reboot’ is required reading for fans of German, US soccer

“Das Reebot,” a new book from Raphael Honingstein which hits book stores and online retailers on Tuesday, is a masterful look at how German soccer broke out of its conservative traditions to create a world champion. While Germany has always from the view of outsiders been a world powerhouse, having never […]