Trailing Brazil in the all-time stakes are Germany (1954,1974,1990, 2014)—who won the last World Cup in Brazil, memorably beating the hosts 7-1 in the semi-final—and Italy (1934, 1938,1982, 2006), who each have four wins.

SEE MORE: Schedule of World Cup qualifiers on US TV and streaming

Argentina have two and aside from Pele, the man most synonymous with this tournament led the Albiceleste to victory in 1986. That man is Diego Maradona, whose brace against England—including the infamous “Hand of God” goal and a stunning individual strike—in the quarter-finals is one of the most remarkable sporting moments of all time.

Uruguay are also two-time champions, while France, Spain and England have won the tournament once in their history.

The Netherlands have the unfortunate record of finishing as the tournament runner-up (1974, 1978, 2010) on three separate occasions. However, their Total Football approach in the 1970s, pioneered by coach Rinus Michels and star player Johan Cruyff, is regarded as some of the most entertaining soccer every played.

Recently, World Soccer Talk ranked the 25 most exciting moments in the history of the tournament. Check them out by clicking here.

SPECIAL OFFER: With DISH Network, get NBCSN, beIN SPORTS, beIN SPORTS en Español, ESPN, ESPN2, FOX Sports 1, FOX Sports 2, Univision Deportes and more. DISH Network is offering 290+ channels starting for $89.99/month, and you’ll get a free HD DVR and free voice remote. Get the details on the offer or call 855-389-9730 today.

Beginners guide to Bundesliga

Beginners guide to Championship

Beginners guide to Champions League

Beginners guide to English Premier League

Beginners guide to La Liga

Beginners guide to Serie A

Beginners guide to Euro 2020

Beginners guide to World Cup

Beginners guide to FA Cup

If you have any questions about the World Cup Beginners Guide, please let us know in the comments section below.

Pages 1 2