Watch or listen to Soccer Morning from 10-11am ET with Jeff Carlisle on the topic of threat of MLS strike and Brian Blickenstaff »

WED, 2:45PM ET
WED, 2:45PM ET
WED, 2:45PM ET
WED, 2:45PM ET
WED, 2:45PM ET

Netherlands Name 23-Man Squad For World Cup 2014

netherlands world cup squad 600x459 Netherlands Name 23 Man Squad For World Cup 2014

Netherlands manager Louis Van Gaal has named his 23-man squad for World Cup 2014.

Holland faces a difficult group at World Cup 2014, where they’ll play Spain, Chile and Australia. But the Dutch have a strong squad filled with European experience despite Rafael van der Vaart pulling out of contention this week due to an injury.

The squad is as follows:


Jasper Cillessen (Ajax)
Tim Krul (Newcastle United)
Michel Vorm (Swansea City)


Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord)
Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord)
Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord)
Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord)
Joël Veltman (Ajax)
Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa)
Paul Verhaegh (FC Augsburg)


Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray)
Nigel de Jong (AC Milan)
Daley Blind (Ajax)
Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord)
Leroy Fer (Norwich City)
Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City)
Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV)


Robin van Persie (Manchester United)
Arjen Robben (Bayern München)
Jeremain Lens (Dinamo Kiev)
Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce)
Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04)
Memphis Depay (PSV)

Be sure to read our Netherlands World Cup preview.

This entry was posted in Netherlands, World Cup, World Cup 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

2 Responses to Netherlands Name 23-Man Squad For World Cup 2014

  1. Poor Maarten Stekelenburg. Fulham Football Club: where World Cup dreams go to die.


  2. francis says:

    The dutch are definitely my sentimental favourite. They deserve a cup after 40+ years of fantastic football. Probably won’t happen though

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>