What's New

2011: A New Start For Italian Football

2010 was a bad year for Italian football. I tried to think of the positives, but very few came to mind. A disastrous World Cup in South Africa, a bad showing in the Europa League, and only a Champions League victory (guided by a Portuguese mastermind) which retains some dignity […]

Match Day Three – Serie A Italian Calcio

Arrival of Match Day Three for Serie A fans will see several key players missing including, Andrea Pirlo and Gennaro Gattuso for Milan (both injured), Massimo Maccarone for Seina and Sulley Muntari for Inter (both suspended), forward David Trezeguet for Juventus and forward Ezequiel Lavezzi for Napoli (both also injured). I’ve provided a recap of my predictions from […]

What's Rising

Rating Italy’s players in South Africa 2010

The Azzurri performed poorly throughout the World Cup and waited till the 80th minute of the match against Slovakia to start playing when it was too late to make a reaction to compensate for the failures in the previous 260 minutes of football. What is most troubling is the fact […]

Recent Comments

Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules

* indicates required

What's Hot

Cristiano Ronaldo is determined to mask his decline

Earlier last week, Brazilian legend Ronaldinho left yet another club by mutual agreement. The story was like every other. After an initial bout of optimism, his time at the club (in this case, Fluminense) quickly turned tumultuous, and a split was in the best interest of both parties. It’s the […]

Review: Honigstein’s ‘Das Reboot’ is required reading for fans of German, US soccer

“Das Reebot,” a new book from Raphael Honingstein which hits book stores and online retailers on Tuesday, is a masterful look at how German soccer broke out of its conservative traditions to create a world champion. While Germany has always from the view of outsiders been a world powerhouse, having never […]