WED, 3PM ET
ENG
NOR
SAT, 7:45AM ET
ARS
MCFC
SAT, 10AM ET
CHE
SWA
SAT, 10AM ET
CRY
BUR
SAT, 10AM ET
STO
LEI
SAT, 10AM ET
SUN
TOT

Brazilian Pitch Invader Stops Certain Goal to Help His Team Advance: Incredible Must-See [VIDEO]

brazilian pitch invader Brazilian Pitch Invader Stops Certain Goal to Help His Team Advance: Incredible Must See [VIDEO]

A pitch invader entered a Brazilian Serie D soccer match Saturday to prevent a last minute certain goal from being scored, and helped his team advance in the playoffs. And the pitch invader happened to be the masseur for the club who advanced.

In the first leg, the score ended 1-1. In the second leg, the score was tied at 2-2 with only a minute to go. With Aparecidence (in white uniform) being the away team, they would have advanced into the semi-finals of the playoff on away goals. But Tupi (in black and white uniform) launched an attack in the last minute of the second half, and were just about to score when Ademilson beat the goalkeeper and kicked the ball from close range only for Aparecidence’s masseur, who was standing by the goalpost, stopping the ball — not once, but twice — from crossing the line.

Not surprisingly, the players from Tupi were incensed and chased the masseur, who managed to escape them into the bowels of the stadium.

The match continued and ended 2-2, with Aparecidence advancing into the semi-finals of the playoffs and Tupi being eliminated from the competition.

Reports in Brazil say that officials from Tupi are taking the matter to court to get the game result overturned.

You’ve got to watch the videos below to believe it.

What I find amazing is that the masseur tries to hold on to his jug of water as he runs to safety, only letting it go at the last minute.

As far as the rules go, unless someone can advise differently, the referee was correct in his decision not to award a goal. The masseur should be fined and banned from the sport, but I would be surprised if Tupi will be able to overturn the final result. If the masseur wasn’t there and the goal had been scored, Tupi would have advanced to the semi-final of the playoff competition.

H/T 101 Great Goals.

This entry was posted in Brazil. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

11 Responses to Brazilian Pitch Invader Stops Certain Goal to Help His Team Advance: Incredible Must-See [VIDEO]

  1. BA14 says:

    this is funny. I wonder what would happen in England if this happened.

  2. brn442 says:

    The referee was correct to not allow a goal because none was scored.

    However – if it wasn’t some drunken fan but indeed the masseur (an agent) of the opposing team, then at minimum – there should be a replay or better yet, the game should be forfeited and Tupi allowed to advance.

  3. Mufc77 says:

    I have to admit that’s damm funny.

  4. Steve says:

    good saves

  5. Patrick says:

    The referee was correct with this ruling, as it would be no different if it were say a dog, or a BEACH BALL… It’s deemed part “part of the pitch” and no goal is allwed. The only time a goal is allowed is if the ball actually crosses the line. The only way to change this is to change the rules of the game. Maybe insert penalty kick in that sort of situatio? It’s not the players or teams fault one fan decided to do this, they shouldn’t be punished or fined. However the venue and its security should be the one’s that are insead at fault in my opinion.

  6. cnl. onions says:

    D. Beasley: take note!

  7. CR7 says:

    That’s quite funny. The best part was his run after saving the goals.

  8. Eddy says:

    You guys who say the ref is correct are idiots. The ref has to use common sense, something soccer refs have none of especially when awarding obvious dives as fouls. The guy who blocked the goal was a employee of the team. Not only should a goal be awarded but the team should forfeit the match completely. This is as stupid as the time a female ref let a ball kicked in by the ball boy count as a goal in a Brazilian lower league game.

  9. Andrew says:

    According to rule 9, if the ball touches a person who is not a player, play should be stopped and restarted at the point where play was stopped with a drop ball. I think if it happens in the goal mouth, then it should be taken outside along the goal line and play restarted there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>