Ukraine’s Shot Against England That Crossed The Line But Didn’t Count [VIDEO]
Ukraine scored against England on Tuesday evening, but the goal didn’t count because the officials ruled that the ball didn’t cross the line. Except that it did.
Slow-motion replays (and photographs) reveal that Ukraine’s shot, which hit England goalkeeper Joe Hart and then flew into over the line before being scrambled away by John Terry, did in fact cross the line. Despite a goal-line official being within yards of the incident, none of the Hungarian officials said the ball crossed the line.
Here’s a video highlight of the incident as you can clearly see the ball crossed the line:
If there is any justice in the game, the attack that Ukraine was on when they scored the ghost goal included an offside pass, which wasn’t called. So if the goal had counted, England would have felt hard done by. Plus, the goal is a little bit of a role reversal from the 2010 World Cup when England clearly had a shot that crossed the line, but the referee didn’t award it in that match.
What do you think? Should goal-line technology be introduced into soccer? Is it waste of time to have the goal-line officials in place if they can’t even spot when a ball has crossed the line or not? Share your feedback in the comments section below.