Nominees for 2011-12 PFA Player of the Year Award; Evaluating Who Should Win

Earlier this week, the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) announced the six players nominated for their Player of the Year award. There are some surprises and there are some no-brainers. But who deserves to wear the crown for the best player of the 2011-2012 season?

Here are the six players, considering their chances:

David Silva

If the award would be announced at the midway point of the season, Silva would have it locked up in his closet already. Such was his form, the 2010 World Cup winning Spaniard was in irresistible form. His fluid style of play, buzzing in and out of the opposition’s half was the dynamic reason City were unstoppable in scoring goals. Yet, his second half of the season, there is no doubt Silva hasn’t been as effective. He cuts a tired figure out in the field. Was it his fault for City’s collapse? They haven’t looked the same without him pulling the strings. Or is it Mancini’s mistake to use him without break and thus burn him out at the season’s end?

Joe Hart

A surprise choice in the nominations; more so, as City captain Vincent Kompany was overlooked. No doubt that he’s had a fantastic season, but it was the unbreakable defense in front of him that helped City to where they are now. Hart has contributed with some stunning saves throughout the season, but he has had some howlers, but which keeper hasn’t? Problem is other keepers have had better seasons, such as Swansea’s Michael Vorm and Newcastle’s Tim Krul. Would be real shock if he won the award, considering no keeper has ever won it.

Sergio Aguero

The Argentine has also been nominated for the Young Player of the Year award and that’s what he’ll probably take home on Awards night. The expensive Argentine (£38million), was in devastating form when City were rolling, but his form waned dramatically when City were falling. Yet there is no doubt the importance of this man to the Sky Blues line up with Mancini admitting after the 3-3 draw with Sunderland that ‘If we’d had Aguero we would have won.’ 21 goals in his first season in English football is a great return for Maradona’s son in law.

Wayne Rooney

Another spectacle year from Rooney, who has taken the mantle from Cristiano Ronaldo as United’s best player. Another 24 goals and four assist has helped United clawed their way back to the summit of the Premier League. It not just the numbers that have spoken, it’s merely Rooney’s presence alone on the field that does it. Defenders have struggled to contain him when he’s been on full flow. Can easily claim his second Player of the Year Award to add to his 2010 trophy.

Robin van Persie

The favorite for the award and who could doubt it? He is the sole reason Arsenal is in third place and back in Champions League contention. After their dreadful start to the season, it was the Dutchman who lifted the Gunners out of their rut with a stunning run of 14 goals in 12 games, including that famous hat trick at Chelsea. All the other nominates have high calibre players around them, Van Persie doesn’t. He even has 10 assists to his name such is his importance to the team. Is also favourite to take out the Golden Boot with 27 goals so far this season. Surely he can’t lose?

Scott Parker

Last year’s Football Writers’ Player of the Year is back amongst the best after another stellar campaign. His positioning in from the back four is the reason Tottenham have been more resilient this season. His hard work has given licence to Luka Modric to be the creative hub of the team. In any other year would be a shoe-in for the award but after Spurs’ mid-season collapse it would be hard for him to take award.

And the unlucky ones to have missed out:

  • Tim Krul,
  • Fabricio Coloccini and
  • Demba Ba.

The Magpies are having a stunning season, surprising ever critic and supporter out there. Their success has been down to these three men, whose consisted displays have launched Newcastle into Champions League contention. A shame not one of them got nominated.

Who do you think should win the 2011-12 PFA Player of the Year Award?


  1. Me April 17, 2012
  2. Neil April 17, 2012
    • Jack Tomczuk April 18, 2012
    • henry app June 6, 2012
  3. dust April 17, 2012
    • Fog April 17, 2012
    • nicc April 18, 2012
      • Fog April 18, 2012
  4. YankRed7 April 17, 2012
  5. Henry April 18, 2012
  6. Luke April 18, 2012
  7. Why? April 18, 2012
  8. Jean April 18, 2012
    • Fog April 18, 2012
  9. CTBlues April 18, 2012
    • Fog April 18, 2012
  10. Christian April 18, 2012
    • bill April 18, 2012
  11. Thomas April 18, 2012
  12. FC Asheville April 18, 2012
    • Fog April 18, 2012
    • Clampdown April 18, 2012
      • Fog April 18, 2012
        • Clampdown April 18, 2012
  13. Benjamin April 21, 2012
  14. Owosho jubril April 22, 2012

Leave a Reply