ESPN2 TV Ratings For Wolves v Aston Villa Revealed

espn2-logo

It’s no surprise that last Saturday’s Wolverhampton Wanderers against Aston Villa tie didn’t garner a massive audience on ESPN2. In fact, it was the third lowest viewed match of the season on ESPN2.

Here are the Nielsen ratings for the Premier League matches televised by ESPN2 so far this season (from highest to lowest audience figures):

  1. Liverpool v Aston Villa, Mon., Aug. 24, 3 pm, 398,391 viewers
  2. Wigan v Man United, Sat., Aug. 22, 10 am, 374,799
  3. Manchester City v West Ham United, Mon., Sept. 28, 3pm, 293,600
  4. Portsmouth v Everton, Sat., Sept. 26, 7:45am, 270,927
  5. Bolton Wanderers v Tottenham Hotspur, Sat., Oct. 3, 10am, 265,508
  6. Chelsea v Burnley, Sat., Aug. 29, 7:45 am, 253,934
  7. Liverpool v Burnley, Sat., Sept. 12, 10 am, 253,779
  8. Aston Villa v Manchester City, Mon., Oct. 5, 3 pm, 248,956
  9. Fulham v Hull City, Mon., Oct. 19, 3 pm, 209,207
  10. Aston Villa v Chelsea, Sat., Oct. 17, 7:45 am, 206,886
  11. Wolverhampton Wanderers v Aston Villa, Sat., Oct. 24, 7:45 am, 204,882
  12. Burnley v Sunderland, Sat., Sept. 19, 7:45 am, 199,380
  13. Chelsea v Hull City, Sat., Aug. 15, 7:45 am, 164,485

Despite the disappointing number of viewers for the Birmingham derby, the telecast still generated more viewers than Sunday’s match-up between Barcelona and Real Zaragoza on ESPN2, which had 136,352 viewers according to Nielsen Ratings.

The true test for ESPN2 will be this Saturday’s biggest game of the season for the Disney-owned channel when Arsenal faces Tottenham Hotspur in the north London derby which kicks off at 8:45am ET. Coverage begins at 8:30am. Arsenal plus Tottenham Hotspur in HD on a Saturday morning. Does it get any better than that?

15 Comments

  1. man99utd October 28, 2009
  2. The Guvnah October 28, 2009
  3. YourMom October 28, 2009
  4. Martin October 28, 2009
  5. Hattrick October 28, 2009
  6. Martin October 28, 2009
  7. nothap'n October 28, 2009
  8. srsmith October 28, 2009
  9. v October 28, 2009
  10. epl-reporter October 28, 2009
  11. eplnfl October 28, 2009
  12. Fan October 29, 2009
    • man99utd October 29, 2009
  13. man99utd October 29, 2009
  14. baffer October 30, 2009

Leave a Reply