SUN, 8:30AM ET
PAL3
LIV1
SUN, 11AM ET
HUL1
TOT2
SUN, 1:30PM ET
RBNY1
REVS2
SUN, 2:45PM ET
ACM1
INT1
SUN, 5PM ET
LAG1
SEA0
MON, 3PM ET
AST
SOU

Premier League: August 31, 2008 (Your Running Commentary)

premier league logo1 Premier League: August 31, 2008 (Your Running Commentary)Today marks the last day of Premier League football until the league returns on Saturday, September 13 when Liverpool plays Manchester United at Anfield — two whole weeks off because of World Cup qualifying matches.

So here are today’s matches for us to enjoy while we can:

  • Chelsea v Tottenham, 8:30am ET/1:30pm UK
  • Sunderland v Manchester City, 10am ET/3pm UK
  • Aston Villa v Liverpool, 11am ET/4pm UK

If you’ll be watching – or have watched – today’s matches, please share your thoughts, insight, opinions and some play-by-play in the comments section below.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

8 Responses to Premier League: August 31, 2008 (Your Running Commentary)

  1. The Gaffer says:

    At this rate, I don’t see Spurs scoring a goal in this match today. It’s all Chelsea.

    Cheers,
    The Gaffer

  2. Beto says:

    Nice assist from Frank Lampard to Darren Bent, as he slots it through Cech’s leg to make it 1-1.
    Essien keeps getting stronger…
    Good morning Gaffer- what happened to the chats?

  3. Cohen says:

    FSC had “only” 5 minute delay to the game. These guys are pathetic. Shame on them for their unprofessionalism…

  4. Dady says:

    I think is difficult that Chelsea lose a match at home but today Tottenham knows how to play and get one important point in a very difficult place, maybe is the good way to grow for this team after their first two matches

  5. The Gaffer says:

    Hoping to make an announcement sometime this week regarding the return of the chat. Stay tuned for more details : )

    Cheers,
    The Gaffer

  6. Ryan says:

    Watching the PL Review show, the league should really look into implementing some goal-line technology, three decisions that were very very close.

  7. The Gaffer says:

    The sad truth is that the Premier League were leading the way in developing the technology but FIFA decided to dump the idea in favor of testing a six referee plan for the future.

    To me, the goal-line technology would be the easiest to implement and least controversial use of technology. It’s time for FIFA to wake up.

    Cheers,
    The Gaffer

  8. Weston says:

    Spurs absolutely have to dump the 4-5-1. Bent is out on an island by himself and cant get anything going as the lone front man – Pavlu hopefully will team up well and bring back the two-man strike force.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>