2014 World Cup Award Nominees Announced

The possible recipients for the 2014 FIFA Golden Ball award, Golden Glove and Best Young Player have been announced, four Argentinians have been nominated and their German opponents in the final have five total nominees. Players are evaluated by FIFA’s technical group and selected by the committees of the technical group.

The Golden Ball is awarded to the all around best player during the World Cup, the complete list is:

  • Lionel Messi (ARG)
  • Angel Di Maria (ARG)
  • Javier Mascherano (ARG)
  • Mats Hummels (GER)
  • Toni Kroos (GER)
  • Phillip Lahm (GER)
  • Thomas Muller (GER)
  • Neymar (BRA)
  • Arjen Robben (NED)
  • James Rodriguez (COL)

The Golden Glove award is given to the goal keeper with the best performances throughout the World Cup, surprisingly left off the short list is U.S. Men’s National Team’s Tim Howard who recorded a tournament high 16 saves during their Round of 16 match against Belgium. Along with Howard, Mexico’s Memo Ochoa was left off the short list, Ochoa left the tournament allowing only two goals during four games and had a memorable performance in keeping a clean sheet versus host nation Brazil in a 0-0 draw on June 17.

Nominees for the Golden Glove are:

  • Keylor Navas (CRC)
  • Manuel Neuer (GER)
  • Sergio Romero (ARG)

The best young player was first awarded in 2006 and is given to the best player under the age of 21.

Best Young Player:

  • Memphis Depay (NED)
  • Paul Pogba (FRA)
  • Raphael Varane (FRA)

The winners of all three awards, as well as the winner of the Golden Boot, player who has scored the most goals of the tournament, will be announced after the final whistle blows on Sunday.

One Response

  1. jeremiah July 12, 2014

Leave a Reply