Manchester City Win 2013/14 Premier League Title

Manchester City are the 2013/14 Premier League champions.

City clinched the title today after a comfortable victory against West Ham United, even though Liverpool beat Newcastle United at Anfield. After today’s matches, City ended up winning the title by two points, to claim its second Premier League trophy in 3 years.

In City’s win against West Ham on the final day of the season, Samir Nasri opened the scoring in 39th minute with a long-range shot that went in off the post. Then Manchester City put the game out of West Ham’s reach early in the second when captain Vincent Kompany scored from a corner kick.

Liverpool, who were hoping for a West Ham win at the Etihad and a win versus Newcastle at Anfield, got the victory against Alan Pardew’s side. But it wasn’t enough on a day where some Liverpool fans will be regretting the fact that the Reds didn’t beat Crystal Palace last week. But even if the Reds had won the match, and the remaining scores would have remained the same, Liverpool would have lost the title on goal difference.

City were top of the table for only 14 days of the 260+ days of the season.

Manchester City’s title today is an impressive haul for Manuel Pellegrini who was able to win the Premier League and League Cup trophies in his first season as manager of the Citizens. The next big test for the Chilean will be trying to make the team a force in the UEFA Champions League.

Congratulations to Manchester City on a well-deserved triumph in the Premier League this season, which was one of the greatest Premier League seasons ever with Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea and City all challenging for the title in the most closely contested Premier League season ever.


  1. Mufc77 May 11, 2014
  2. gargoyle May 11, 2014
  3. jtm371 May 11, 2014
    • Grayson May 11, 2014
      • jtm371 May 11, 2014
  4. Mufc77 May 11, 2014
  5. goatslookshifty May 11, 2014
    • Flyvanescence May 11, 2014
  6. Abdirahman May 11, 2014
  7. Why? May 12, 2014
  8. yespage May 12, 2014

Leave a Reply