What's New

ESPN World Cup Commentators: Progress Report Card

ESPN’s coverage of the 2010 World Cup has been spectacular. But if I must be honest, some of the commentators are beginning to get on my nerves. It’s normal, I guess – especially after you consider how many hours we’ve spent listening to these commentators since the tournament began on […]

American Shmundits. Argh!

I play much more soccer than basketball.  But when it comes to the end of televised seasons, I watch much more basketball than soccer.  Maybe it has something to do with the excitement of a top quality league that actually has playoffs combined with the speed and high scoring of […]

ESPN Coverage Hits New Low With West Ham vs MLS All-Stars

ESPN’s broadcast of Euro 2008 was the best production ever of a soccer tournament for TV viewers in the United States. While it wasn’t perfect, it was clearly evident that ESPN had listened to the past criticism and corrected the annoying habits that had previously distanced diehard soccer fans from […]

What's Rising

Who's Going to Finish 4th?

We’ve been getting a lot of comments here on EPL Talk recently and it’s great to hear from the readers. So let’s keep it going. Who do you think is going to end the season in fourth place and snatch the Champions League spot that goes with it? After this […]

GolTV Commentator Makes A Funny Flub

Sometimes it’s not the wisest idea to having Spanish-speaking announcers commentating a soccer match in English, especially when it’s not their native tongue. The perfect example was today’s Real Zaragoza against Racing Santander match. Here’s what the GolTV commentator said during the match: “It’s a pity for Racing Santander that […]

Recent Comments

Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules

* indicates required

What's Hot

Cristiano Ronaldo is determined to mask his decline

Earlier last week, Brazilian legend Ronaldinho left yet another club by mutual agreement. The story was like every other. After an initial bout of optimism, his time at the club (in this case, Fluminense) quickly turned tumultuous, and a split was in the best interest of both parties. It’s the […]

Review: Honigstein’s ‘Das Reboot’ is required reading for fans of German, US soccer

“Das Reebot,” a new book from Raphael Honingstein which hits book stores and online retailers on Tuesday, is a masterful look at how German soccer broke out of its conservative traditions to create a world champion. While Germany has always from the view of outsiders been a world powerhouse, having never […]