Referee Overturns Her Initial Decision And Awards Ghost Goal to Wrexham [VIDEO]

amy fearn Referee Overturns Her Initial Decision And Awards Ghost Goal to Wrexham [VIDEO]

In the Conference Premier match between Kidderminster and Wrexham this weekend, Wrexham scored a ghost goal when the shot went into the corner of the net, but the referee awarded a goal kick instead of a goal to Wrexham.

The referee and assistant referee didn’t see the goal because the ball had gone through a hole in the net.

Not surprisingly, the Wrexham players protested to the referee and match officials. After six minutes of discussion and consultation, referee Amy Fearn changed her decision and awarded the goal to Wrexham. Kidderminster won the game 3-1.

Hats off to referee Amy Fearn who ultimately got the decision correct. Earlier this season, Fearn became the first female to referee an FA Cup first-round fixture.

Watch the video to see the ghost goal here:

And watch the video from behind the goal. Warning, some of the language is NSFW:

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013. View all posts by Christopher Harris →
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Referee Overturns Her Initial Decision And Awards Ghost Goal to Wrexham [VIDEO]

  1. Evan says:

    I hate how the players are surrounding and chasing the ref around the entire time.

    • AJ says:

      The obvious question also becomes:

      Would they have chased a male referee around the pitch?

    • R.O says:

      I dislike that too when players surround and vehemently argue and chase the ref (man or female).

      If I remember correctly, in the past (good old days – lol) only the team captains (with arm bands) were allowed to “argue” (discuss) a situation with the ref. I know that didn’t always happen.

      I would like to see a return to that rule and enforced.

  2. Tony Butterworth says:

    Despite her making the right decision isn’t it technically against the rules. What new evidence came in to make her change her mind ?

  3. lhssoccerfan says:

    The referee can change the call until play has re-started.

    The sad thing is, referee should always check the pitch before a match. This includes checking the goals and nets. I have seen a goal not allowed because of a hole in the net, but not at this level of play.

  4. Flyvanescence says:

    I guess theyve never had to deal with a pickup match with cones for goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>