Premier League Teams Named For 2009 Asia Trophy


The four teams have been named for the 2009 Premier League Asia Trophy to be played in China between July 29-August 1, 2009. It’s the first time the tournament will be played on mainland China when Beijing will be the host to Tottenham Hotspur, West Ham United, Hull City and Beijing Guo’an.

The games will be played at the Beijing’s Worker’s Stadium.

In 2007, Portsmouth won the trophy after beating Liverpool on penalties in the final. In 2005, Bolton Wanderers won the competition. And during its first year, 2003, Chelsea won the cup after a penalty shoot-out.

The tournament is played every two years in Asia.

Originally, the plan was that Chelsea, West Ham United and Hull City would be the three British teams playing in the tournament. But since Chelsea will be finishing up their tour of the United States in late July, Tottenham Hotspur will take their place instead.


  1. Footballer May 20, 2009
  2. Pedro May 20, 2009
    • Keli June 10, 2009
  3. Wayne Farry May 20, 2009
    • Keli June 10, 2009
  4. Wawne Ferry May 25, 2009
  5. FanZine May 25, 2009
  6. Blurred June 30, 2009
  7. Marc Lloyd July 29, 2009

Leave a Reply