Photo credit: AFP

Rotterdam giants Feyenoord ended their trophy drought on Sunday, winning the Dutch Cup with a 2-1 defeat of Utrecht in the final.

In a game played at their own De Kuip stadium, Michiel Kramer scored to give Feyenoord a half-time lead, only for Ramon Leeuwin to equalise early in the second half.

However, Feyenoord got the winner with 15 minutes remaining thanks to a slice of good fortune.

Eljero Elia hit a shot that came back off the post only to rebound off goalkeeper Filip Bednarek and into the net.

It is the 12th time Feyenoord have won the Dutch Cup but the first time they have lifted silverware since they triumphed in the same competition in 2008.

European Cup winners in 1970, Feyenoord, now coached by Giovanni van Bronckhorst, won the last of their 14 Dutch league titles in 1999.

They currently sit third in the Eredivisie with two games remaining, 21 points adrift of the top two, Ajax and PSV Eindhoven.