Argentina and Chile face rematch after Copa America draw

Photo credit: AFP

Photo credit: AFP

Lionel Messi and Argentina were given a chance for revenge after being drawn against reigning Copa America champions Chile in the group stage for this summer’s special centenary edition of the tournament.

Argentina suffered an agonizing defeat to Chile in the climax of last June’s tournament in Santiago as their major championship drought continued.

However, Messi and his teammates have the opportunity to strike back at Chile after being drawn alongside their South American rivals in Group D.

The Copa America Centenario is taking place outside South America for the first time this year to mark 100 years of the world’s oldest international football tournament.

Ten cities across the United States will host games from June 3-26 in the 16-team tournament, which features 10 sides from South America and six from the CONCACAF region.

SEE MORE: Schedule announced for 2016 Copa America Centenario games across USA.

Argentina’s clash with Chile was the standout fixture from Sunday’s draw at New York’s Hammerstein Ballroom in Manhattan. Panama and Bolivia complete Group D.

Host United States will kick off the tournament against Colombia in the opening match on June 3 at Super Bowl venue Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

The match may carry a good omen for the United States, who beat Colombia in the 1994 World Cup group stages, a game made infamous by the own goal from Colombian defender Andres Escobar, who was later murdered in his homeland in an apparent reprisal.

– Kind draw for Brazil? –

The Americans’ Group A is full of demanding challenges, with 2014 World Cup quarter-finalists Colombia and Costa Rica as well as 2015 Copa America semi-finalists Paraguay.

“It’s a very difficult group, but it’s doable, and this is what a Copa America is about,” US coach Jurgen Klinsmann told Univision television.

“You want to measure yourself with the best teams from South America and also our region. So we can’t wait to get it started.”

Five-time world champions Brazil, however, were given what looked like a straightforward passage into the knockout rounds, with Ecuador, Haiti and Peru forming their opposition in Group B.

SEE MORE: Tickets now on sale for Copa America 2016.

Brazil will open their campaign against Ecuador at the Pasadena Rose Bowl — scene of their 1994 World Cup final triumph — on June 4.

Reigning CONCACAF Gold Cup champions Mexico and Luis Suarez’s Uruguay will be favored to proceed to the last eight from Group C ahead of Jamaica and Venezuela.

Pages 1 2

Leave a Reply

Translate »