The Professional Footballers Association (PFA) have announced their nominations for 2012-13 Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

They are as follows:

For Player of the Year, the nominees are:

  • Gareth Bale
  • Juan Mata
  • Michael Carrick
  • Eden Hazard
  • Luis Suarez
  • Robin van Persie

The nominations for 2012-13 PFA Young Player of the Year are:

  • Gareth Bale
  • Christian Benteke
  • Eden Hazard
  • Danny Welbeck
  • Romelu Lukaku
  • Jack Wilshere

Gareth Bale and Eden Hazard are nominated in both categories.

The highly prestigious awards competition is voted on by each member of the Professional Footballers Association. In the 2011-12 awards, Robin van Persie won Player of the Year, while Kyle Walker was recognized as Young Player of the Year. Gareth Bale won the Player of the Year award in 2010-11.

The winners of this year’s Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year should be announced in the next few days.

What do you think about the nominations? Did the Professional Footballers Association get the nominations spot on, or are there some glaring oversights? Post your opinions in the comments section below.

Personally, I think it’s ridiculous that Michu was overlooked. All six players nominated for the Player of the Year are worthy, but I would argue that Michu should have nominated instead of Eden Hazard. Michu has scored 17 goals in the league, and was a key player responsible for helping the Welsh club win the League Cup. Eden Hazard has scored 8 goals in the league so far this season.

[polldaddy poll=7047952]