Connect with us


Messi Wins Fifa Ballon d’Or Award

Photo credit: AFP

Argentina and Barcelona forward Lionel Messi captured the inaugural Fifa Ballon d’Or award. This is the first time this award has been presented as the Ballon d’Or (former European Footballer of the Year award) and the FIFA World Player of the Year award have been merged.

Messi beat out fellow Barcelona teammates Xavi and Andres Iniesta both of whom had strong years for club and country. I was rooting for Xavi as I think this may have been his last chance at the award considering he is now 30. I felt more than just for sentimental reasons that he would have been an excellent choice. He is the heartbeat and maestro for two of the most dominant teams from this past calendar year – Barcelona and Spain. I think Andres Iniesta is a very good player but I was disappointed to not see Wesley Sneijder in the final three after winning the treble with Inter Milan and leading Netherlands to the World Cup finals.

That being said, it is hard to argue against Messi, who scored a remarkable 60 goals for club and country in the 2010 calendar year and is widely regarded as one of the most gifted footballers ever. Messi joins some elite company in winning back to back player of the year awards.

Johan Cruyff, in 1973 and 74, was the first to do it. Cruuyff, who was often called ‘Pythagoras in boots’ for the beauty and precision of his angled passes, is still the standard by which many judge what a ‘complete’ footballer should be. Not only did he have great vision and passing but his overall technical ability, speed, acceleration and dribbling set him apart. You can watch the Dutch master at work in this YouTube video.

Liverpool legend Kevin Keegan landed the Ballon d’Or in 1978 and 1979. Bayern Munich legend Karl-Heinz Rummenigge had his best years in 1980 and 1981 including back-to-back Ballon d’Or awards and winning the 1980 European Championships with West Germany.

However, UEFA president Michel Platini did one better than all the rest by winning three consecutive awards between 1983 and 1985. Why did he win three in a row ? For starters, he finished top scorer in Serie A for three consecutive seasons (1982–83, 1983–84, and 1984–85). He won the scudetto (Italian championship) with Juventus in 1984, the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1984, the 1984 UEFA Super Cup, the European Cup in 1985 and the 1985 Intercontinental Cup. He also won Euro 1984 with France for good measure. The only thing that eluded Platini during his career was a World Cup win. He came close with France in 1986 when they finished 3rd. Watch Platini in action.

For a bonus treat, here are highlight videos for Messi, Xavi & Iniesta. Oh what the heck, here’s one of Sneijder also. Enjoy!

200+ Channels With Sports & News
  • Starting price: $33/mo. for fubo Latino Package
  • Watch Premier League, World Cup, Euro 2024 & more
  • Includes NBC, USA, FOX, ESPN, CBSSN & more
Live & On Demand TV Streaming
  • Price: $35/mo. for Sling Blue
  • Watch Premier League, World Cup & MLS
  • Includes USA, NBC, FOX, FS1 + more
Many Sports & ESPN Originals
  • Price: $6.99/mo. (or get ESPN+, Hulu & Disney+ for $13.99/mo.)
  • Features Bundesliga, LaLiga, Championship, & more
  • Also includes daily ESPN FC news & highlights show
2,000+ soccer games per year
  • Price: $4.99/mo
  • Features Champions League, Serie A, Europa League & NWSL
  • Includes CBS, Star Trek & CBS Sports HQ
175 Premier League Games & PL TV
  • Starting price: $4.99/mo. for Peacock Premium
  • Watch 175 exclusive EPL games per season
  • Includes Premier League TV channel plus movies, TV shows & more



  1. Shahin

    January 10, 2012 at 12:27 am

    Messi messi messi i love you because you are a best player in the
    world i am100% sure 2012 you again become win fifa ballon d,or
    christiano rolando is very dasty player he love sexy girl he did
    not love football

  2. Abdul idris

    January 3, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Michel platini is realy d lagent bt messi wil superss dem all. Up

  3. Zach

    March 15, 2011 at 5:51 am

    I want to know who won the ucl in 2002

  4. Ruwan

    February 24, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    You deserved it brother keep it up.All the success Messi. All the success Arg. foot ball, All the success BARCA!!.

  5. Joe

    January 12, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    I think this award needs to have clearer criteria. Are we talking about the best player in the world, or are we talking about the player who has accomplished the most in that calendar year? If it’s the former, Messi wins without too much argument. If it’s the latter, Wesley Sneijder was the best player on a team that won the European championship, and then followed that up with a world cup final run. You’d think in a world cup year that would count for something. But I guess it doesn’t, and as individual awards are meaningless anyway, go ahead and give it to Messi.

    • Jenelle

      December 14, 2011 at 7:55 pm

      Your answer lifts the intellginece of the debate.

  6. dr.abah

    January 11, 2011 at 2:06 pm


  7. Ajith

    January 11, 2011 at 9:32 am

    He is the champion, not christiano

  8. joy

    January 11, 2011 at 4:58 am

    Messi is the best……….!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Awards

Translate »