Connect with us


A Tale Of Three Penalties

It was an amusing night for most of us. 61 minutes into the match at Upton Park, Matthew Upson brings down Daniel Sturridge in the box. Our Football Channel pundits for the night, Trevor Sinclair and Carlton Palmer, voiced their disagreements at the end of the night. Both of them felt that because Mike Dean didn’t see the incident, and the linesman had his flag up, he had no choice but to give it. He also probably noted the reactions of the West Ham players and regretted the decision. Which was probably why he made Lamps take the spot kick three times.

Trevor also makes an excellent point when he says that if Mike Dean has seen an encroachment, he should have booked them the second time it happened. Most of the players were already on yellow cards, and would have seen red had Mike Dean decided to be even pickier than he was. Both Trevor and Carlton then come to the conclusion that Mike Dean was playing for the miss to make up for what he perceives as a bad decision on his part. Which does make sense when you notice that the third time Lamps takes and scores the spot kick, there was still an encroachment by a couple of players.

For the record, it was never a penalty against West Ham. Upson got the ball with a brilliant tackle, as seen in the slow-motion replays. It wasn’t a dive by Sturridge, nor the correct decision from the linesman (Carlton Palmer was so incensed, he called them “redundant”). Mike Dean should have stood his ground and waved the appeals away. Instead, he made a bad decision, regretted it within 5 seconds, and made a fool of himself by attempting to play for the miss. Lamps, to his credit, kept his cool to score all three times. But what if Lamps had missed the second spot kick? Would Mike Dean still have blown for encroachment? How big of a debate would it have sparked?

I guess we’ll never find out.

200+ Channels With Sports & News
  • Starting price: $33/mo. for fubo Latino Package
  • Watch Premier League, World Cup, Euro 2024 & more
  • Includes NBC, USA, FOX, ESPN, CBSSN & more
Live & On Demand TV Streaming
  • Price: $69.99/mo. for Entertainment package
  • Watch World Cup, Euro 2024 & MLS
  • Includes ESPN, ESPN2, FS1 + local channels
Many Sports & ESPN Originals
  • Price: $6.99/mo. (or get ESPN+, Hulu & Disney+ for $13.99/mo.)
  • Features Bundesliga, LaLiga, Championship, & more
  • Also includes daily ESPN FC news & highlights show
2,000+ soccer games per year
  • Price: $4.99/mo
  • Features Champions League, Serie A, Europa League & NWSL
  • Includes CBS, Star Trek & CBS Sports HQ
175 Premier League Games & PL TV
  • Starting price: $4.99/mo. for Peacock Premium
  • Watch 175 exclusive EPL games per season
  • Includes Premier League TV channel plus movies, TV shows & more


  1. Peter

    December 21, 2009 at 11:51 am

    That’s correct and if both teams encroach, then the kick should be retaken – which was the case yesterday. I’m not sure how you get to the conclusion that Mike Dean doesn’t know the rules.

    • David

      December 21, 2009 at 6:23 pm

      I say that because while he was being picky about the penalty and may have been doing it for one of the reasons mentioned in the article, the fact is that in the 3rd and final penalty that stood, Drogba had still encroached into the half circle before Lampard struck the ball. So while it’s a moot point generally, he decided to make it one, and still managed to get it wrong.

  2. David

    December 21, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I’m not 100% sure on the rules, but let me know if this sounds right…

    If the team receiving the spot kick encroaches and it is successfully converted, it should be retaken.
    If the team receiving the spot kick encroaches and it is unsuccessfully converted then it should be a free kick for the defending team.
    If the team defending the spot kick encroaches and it is successfully converted the goal should stand.
    If the team defending the spot kick encroaches and it is unsuccessfully converted the kick should be retaken.

    I’m not sure how it is actually supposed to be dealt with, but clearly, neither does Mike Dean.

  3. Bob Bradley's Scout

    December 21, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Problem is I have never seen ‘encrochment’ ever being called in the last couple of years watching the EPL. Mike Dean is a disgrace. Had Lampard missed and knowing Mike Dean, he would not have called for Lampard to retake the Penalty. I don’t want to watch a Game that is decided by a referee, personally I think the penalty on the other end of the pitch was also a soft one, Ashley Cole was trying his best to pull out of the Challenge, and West Ham made the most of it with good acting. Why is it when Mike Dean Referees a high profile game, he becomes the Center of Attention. A referee should interfere only when absolutely necessary, he should be in the Background and not deciding the outcome of the game. I cringe everytime he referees a game, bc he is one of the worst refs in the EPL.

    • oliver

      December 21, 2009 at 3:56 pm

      and when Frank missed at Man City a couple of weeks back, the ball was cleared by a City player who was one of three who had encroached before the kick was taken.

  4. Peter

    December 21, 2009 at 9:12 am

    This wasn’t ticky tacky encroachment – there were 8 players 3-4 yards inside the area on both of the kicks – on the third one, the only Chelsea player that was encroaching was a yard inside the half-circle. If he had called the third one back, it would have been very ticky-tacky and worthy of debate.

    Maybe he was simply enforcing a rule instead of hoping that Lampard missed it. In fact, I’m going to go ahead and assume that was the case.

    • Phil McThomas

      December 21, 2009 at 6:51 pm

      I’m going to try and work ‘ticky tacky’ into a sentence tomorrow.

  5. The Gaffer

    December 21, 2009 at 7:22 am

    At least Mike Dean is making us feel at ease if Frank Lampard steps up to take a penalty for England in the World Cup. Three exquisite penalties in a row under immense pressure. Very few players could have done that.

    The Gaffer

  6. Alvin Phoon

    December 21, 2009 at 7:13 am

    The question is not whether he could have. It is whether he would have.

  7. Marc

    December 21, 2009 at 6:20 am

    The 3rd encroachment was only from West Ham players. If Fat Frank missed that penalty kick Dean could of had him take it again.

  8. Tyson

    December 20, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Damn Mike Dean is lucky that wasn’t a winning goal he probably would have gotten into a fair bit of trouble for it.

    It was pretty outrageous he let him take it three times. He was obviously hoping one of them would be a miss so he could rectify his mistake.

    Not good for West Ham United really they should have won that match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in General

Translate »