What's New

African Cup Of Nations Round Up: Days 5-9

Now that’s what I call a tournament mascot. I don’t need modern interpretations of peace, harmony and good will like the dreadful trio that South Korea and Japan gave us in 2002. Dreadful mascots and a dreadful tournament. I want giant animals or characters that can play football or playing […]

What's Rising

Manchester City and Marco Reus Would Be A Match Made In Heaven

Manchester City’s longstanding core of magnificent players stood up and made themselves counted in the recent Manchester derby. Their captain Vincent Kompany was imposing and imperious, Pablo Zabaleta was eminently industrious, Yaya Toure rediscovered his intimidating swagger and Sergio Aguero was forensically clinical in front of goal. These are players […]

Sky Sports and the Premier League: Money, Money, Money

Satellite sports broadcaster, Sky Sports, has played a crucial, though largely hidden role in the revitalization of English club football. In the early 1990s English football was in a crisis, with match attendances dropping, English teams banned from European competition and the top flight of the Football League lagging well […]

Recent Comments

Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules

* indicates required

What's Hot

Cristiano Ronaldo is determined to mask his decline

Earlier last week, Brazilian legend Ronaldinho left yet another club by mutual agreement. The story was like every other. After an initial bout of optimism, his time at the club (in this case, Fluminense) quickly turned tumultuous, and a split was in the best interest of both parties. It’s the […]

Review: Honigstein’s ‘Das Reboot’ is required reading for fans of German, US soccer

“Das Reebot,” a new book from Raphael Honingstein which hits book stores and online retailers on Tuesday, is a masterful look at how German soccer broke out of its conservative traditions to create a world champion. While Germany has always from the view of outsiders been a world powerhouse, having never […]