What's New

FIFA Votes to Ban Third-Party Player Ownership

FIFA has recently announced that it will soon ban third-party player ownerships. While the association made the sensible decision to bar the sketchy involvement of third parties, the ban will not be effective immediately. Following a meeting on the issue, FIFA President Sepp Blatter stated, “We took a firm decision […]

What Should Happen To Manchester City’s Financial Fair Play Fine?

Following Manchester City‘s protracted battle with UEFA’s Financial Fair Play regulations it came to light yesterday that following an agreement between clubs and European football’s governing body, the money brought in from Manchester City’s fine would be distributed amongst clubs involved in UEFA competitions, including those already fairly wealthy clubs […]

What's Rising

Michael Owen to Man United – Gamble or not?

£56 million here… £80 million there… this summer has been dominated by the outlandish spending of a select few, with transfer records tumbling at every turn. But one deal that will grab most of the headlines could well be a free transfer. Michael Owen, labelled a fallen idol, a faded […]

Sore Losers and Classless Montreal Impact Out of MLS Playoffs After Finishing Game With 8 Men [VIDEO]

Players from the Montreal Impact in MLS were described by TV commentators as “sore losers” and “classless” for the way they ended their MLS playoff hopes last night after losing 3-0 to the Houston Dynamo in a fiery match where three Impact players were red carded. Nelson Rivas, Andres Romero […]

Recent Comments

Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules

* indicates required

What's Hot

Review: Honigstein’s ‘Das Reboot’ is required reading for fans of German, US soccer

“Das Reebot,” a new book from Raphael Honingstein which hits book stores and online retailers on Tuesday, is a masterful look at how German soccer broke out of its conservative traditions to create a world champion. While Germany has always from the view of outsiders been a world powerhouse, having never […]

CONCACAF Cup: Mexico’s defense looks surprisingly settled ahead of USA playoff

There’s a sense of creeping dread familiar to Mexican soccer fans, that sinking feeling that occurs when the opposition progresses past the midfield and is driving at the back line: “Oh no. We can’t stop them.” Mexico has a long history of great goalkeepers and defensive midfielders. Defenders? El Tri hasn’t […]