What's New

2011: A New Start For Italian Football

2010 was a bad year for Italian football. I tried to think of the positives, but very few came to mind. A disastrous World Cup in South Africa, a bad showing in the Europa League, and only a Champions League victory (guided by a Portuguese mastermind) which retains some dignity […]

Preview Of The Serie A Return

With the international break over, we can now focus back to this interesting title race in the works called Serie A. While the Azzurri have had a relatively disappointing international break with their 0-0 draw against Northern Ireland, their match against Serbia cancelled, and the fact that they won’t be […]

Italy To Face Serbia At Home In Important Qualifier

Tomorrow Italy will be playing it’s final match of this international break, a qualifier for the European Championships of 2012 which will be taking place in Poland and Ukraine. The Azzurri will be facing Serbia at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris of Genoa, and the Sampdoria players like Cassano and Pazzini […]

Where Have Those Summer Breaks From Soccer Gone?

Remember the good old days when there was a summer break of a month or two between the end of the English football season and the start of the new one? For me, the summer break was synonymous with following cricket matches, Wimbledon and monotonous days of no soccer news […]

What's Rising

Premier League 2012-13 Most Ineffective Team [INFOGRAPHIC]

WhoScored has calculated the most ineffective Premier League XI of 2012-13, and there are a few surprises. While names such as Charlie Adam, Clint Hill and Carlton Cole are no surprise inclusions, there are shocks including footballers from Manchester United, Arsenal and Chelsea. Some of the statistics included in the […]

Recent Comments

Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules

* indicates required

What's Hot

Cristiano Ronaldo is determined to mask his decline

Earlier last week, Brazilian legend Ronaldinho left yet another club by mutual agreement. The story was like every other. After an initial bout of optimism, his time at the club (in this case, Fluminense) quickly turned tumultuous, and a split was in the best interest of both parties. It’s the […]

Review: Honigstein’s ‘Das Reboot’ is required reading for fans of German, US soccer

“Das Reebot,” a new book from Raphael Honingstein which hits book stores and online retailers on Tuesday, is a masterful look at how German soccer broke out of its conservative traditions to create a world champion. While Germany has always from the view of outsiders been a world powerhouse, having never […]