What's New

What Makes A Classic Football Match? Part 2

Yesterday I covered the Perfect Drama Classic. Today, I’ll look at the You Were Right I Was Wrong Classic… 2.) Portsmouth v. Liverpool – 7 Feb 2009 I try to be the biggest proponent of Rafa Knows Best whenever I can. Though I am at times puzzled by some of his decisions and […]

What Makes A Classic Football Match? Part 1

In Fever Pitch, Nick Hornby tells us what a match requires to be “really, truly memorable.” He wants as many of the following as possible (and I paraphrase): goals, bad refereeing decisions, a noisy Crowd, rain etc, opposition misses a penalty, opposition receives a red card, a disgraceful incident. I’m with him […]

What's Rising

Dempsey's Wondergoal

I don’t know how much longer this will stay up on Youtube, but Clint Dempsey’s goal to send Fulham into the final eight of the UEFA competition is just a thing of beauty. Update – I found this version of the video which includes the commentary from US’s Gol TV. […]

Recent Comments

Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules

* indicates required

What's Hot

Cristiano Ronaldo is determined to mask his decline

Earlier last week, Brazilian legend Ronaldinho left yet another club by mutual agreement. The story was like every other. After an initial bout of optimism, his time at the club (in this case, Fluminense) quickly turned tumultuous, and a split was in the best interest of both parties. It’s the […]

Review: Honigstein’s ‘Das Reboot’ is required reading for fans of German, US soccer

“Das Reebot,” a new book from Raphael Honingstein which hits book stores and online retailers on Tuesday, is a masterful look at how German soccer broke out of its conservative traditions to create a world champion. While Germany has always from the view of outsiders been a world powerhouse, having never […]