Australia Names 23-Man Squad For World Cup 2014: Luke Wilkshire Dropped From Team

Australia head coach Ange Postecoglou has made several controversial decisions in his selection of the 23 men who will be on the roster for the Socceroos heading to Brazil.

Luke Wilkshire, who has 80 caps for Australia, has been eliminated from the squad, which will probably mean the end of his international career, while Josh Kennedy and Tom Rogic were ruled out due to injuries.

Australia’s 23-man squad for the World Cup in Brazil features:

Goalkeepers: Mat Ryan (Club Brugge), Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund), Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United).

Defenders: Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar), Jason Davidson (Heracles Almelo), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Bailey Wright (Preston North End), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Motors), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng)

Midfielders: Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), James Holland (Austria Vienna), Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town), Oliver Bozanic (Luzern), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mark Bresciano (Al-Gharafa)

Attackers: Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Dario Vidosic (Sion), Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory), Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets), Mathew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt).

SEE MORE — Read the Australia World Cup Preview.

One Response

  1. Amanda June 6, 2014

Leave a Reply