Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter featuring news and TV schedules »

MON, 2:30PM ET
MON, 2:45PM ET
WED, 2:45PM ET

Mexico Announces 23-Man Squad For World Cup 2014

mexico team 600x291 Mexico Announces 23 Man Squad For World Cup 2014

Mexico has announced its 23-man squad for World Cup 2014.

The squad that will be traveling to Brazil is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Guillermo Ochoa (Ajaccio)

Defenders: Paul Aguilar (América), Francisco Rodriguez (América), Diego Reyes (Porto), Hector Moreno (Espanyol), Rafael Marquez (León), Miguel Layún (America), Andres Guardado (Bayer Leverkusen), Carlos Salcido (UANL)

Midfield: Juan Carlos Medina (America), Carlos Pena (León), Luis Montes (León), Juan José Vázquez (León), Hector Herrera (Porto), Isaac Brizuela (Toluca), Marco Fabian (Cruz Azul)

Strikers: Oribe Peralta (Santos Laguna), Raul Jimenez (America), Javier Hernandez (Manchester United), Alan Pulido (UANL), Giovani dos Santos (Villarreal)

Out of the 23 players listed above, 35% of the team play for Club America or Leon. Mexico Head Coach Miguel Herrera has selected a side consisting mostly of Liga MX players.

Not included in the squad are key players including Carlos Vela and Óscar Pérez Rojas.

What’s your opinion about the Mexico 23-man squad for the World Cup? Share your feedback in the comments section below.

This entry was posted in Mexico, World Cup, World Cup 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

One Response to Mexico Announces 23-Man Squad For World Cup 2014

  1. Pablo Amador says:

    Notable players that missed the list are Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad) and Javier Aquino (Villareal). Óscar Pérez is 41 years old and is, obviously, not in his prime.

    The biggest surpise regarding the Mexico 23-man squad for the World Cup is Carlos Salcido, who had an inconsistent season and is not one of the most talented LB in Mexico. However, his World Cup and Olympic Games experience, as well as his frienship with most of the selected squad members, seem highly valued by Miguel Herrera.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>