Sign up for the free daily World Soccer Talk email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules »

SAT, 11:15AM ET
SUN, 11:15AM ET

PFA Names Luis Suarez Player of the Year While Eden Hazard Wins Young Player of the Year Honors

luis suarez PFA Names Luis Suarez Player of the Year While Eden Hazard Wins Young Player of the Year Honors

Luis Suarez has been named Player of the Year for the 2013/14 season in the annual award competition, as voted on by the members of The Professional Footballers’ Association. The Liverpool striker won the top honor, while Chelsea’s Eden Hazard won the Young Player of the Year award.

Last season, Gareth Bale became only the third person in the history of the awards competition to win both the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards in the same season.

So far this season, Suarez has scored 30 goals, despite missing the first 6 games of the season, and has be one of the main players in helping Liverpool climb to the top of the Premier League table.

Hazard, meanwhile, has scored 14 goals this season as an attacking midfielder for Jose Mourinho’s side.

Meanwhile, the PFA announced its Team of the Year, which is as follows: Cech, Shaw, Kompany, Cahill, Coleman, Hazard, Yaya Toure, Gerrard, Lallana, Suarez, Sturridge.

This entry was posted in Chelsea, Leagues: EPL, Liverpool, Luis Suarez, PFA, PFA Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

13 Responses to PFA Names Luis Suarez Player of the Year While Eden Hazard Wins Young Player of the Year Honors

  1. goatslookshifty says:

    Fair enough. Notwithstanding his over-acting and blatant attempt to get penalties, he was by far the player of the year. Even Patrice Evra voted for him.

  2. jtm371 says:

    When was last time no MUFC player made the PFA starting XI? No surprise with Suarez.

  3. RJ says:

    I demand a recount. Surely Steven Naismith was the Player of the Year.

  4. goisles01 says:

    Well deserved! Cristiano Ronaldo has 31 and takes, if not all, the majority of his teams penalties

  5. Smokey Bacon says:

    Jose Mourinho’s team of the year ballot has been leaked on the internet.

    1. Cech
    2. Ivanovic
    3. Cole
    4. Cahill
    5. Terry
    6. Kompany
    7. Zabaleta
    8. Demichelis
    9. Vidic
    10. Skrtel
    11. Bus

  6. Marc L says:

    Suarez – cheat of the year more than anything.

    I wonder what percentage of his goals were scored against crappy opposition? Intuitively I would imagine it is much higher than, for example, Yaya Toure.

  7. MtnD says:

    Congrats Luis, couldn’t have happened to a more morally bankrupt cheat like yourself!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>