SUN, 8:30AM ET
QPR2
LIV3
SUN, 9AM ET
VER1
MIL3
SUN, 11AM ET
STO2
SWA1
SUN, 2:45PM ET
INT
NAP
SUN, 3PM ET
VIL
ALM
SUN, 8:30PM ET
LAG
SEA

Cardiff City Gifts Goal to Chelsea After Goalkeeper Loses Ball While Bouncing It [GIF]

david marshall Cardiff City Gifts Goal to Chelsea After Goalkeeper Loses Ball While Bouncing It [GIF]

Cardiff City goalkeeper David Marshall gifted a goal to Chelsea today at Stamford Bridge after he bounced the ball in his penalty area but the ball hit Chelsea striker Samuel Eto’o. The Cameroon striker then teamed up with Eden Hazard for the Belgian to score the goal to equalize.

chelsea goal cardiff error Cardiff City Gifts Goal to Chelsea After Goalkeeper Loses Ball While Bouncing It [GIF]

Should the referee have blown his whistle because Eto’o knocked the ball out of Marshall’s hands? Or did he drop the ball and it became a live ball whereby Eto’o had every right to kick it? Share your opinion in the comments section below.

Earlier in the match, another freak goal happened when David Luiz got caught out by some poor defending where he left the ball for Petr Cech to pick up but Cardiff’s Jordan Mutch snuck behind Luiz to open the scoring for Cardiff.

jordan mutch goal Cardiff City Gifts Goal to Chelsea After Goalkeeper Loses Ball While Bouncing It [GIF]

This entry was posted in Cardiff City, Chelsea, Leagues: EPL. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

6 Responses to Cardiff City Gifts Goal to Chelsea After Goalkeeper Loses Ball While Bouncing It [GIF]

  1. Matt says:

    It’s definitely a clean play. Why the hell is he bouncing the ball without being certain that no one is near him.

  2. Dean Stell says:

    There’s really never a reason to bounce the ball. Nothing good can happen and bad things can occasionally happen.

  3. Simon says:

    It’s not. Under FIFA rules, when the goalkeeper bounces the ball, it’s still in his possession.

  4. ktbffh says:

    its clear that it should not have been a goal, but it does bring up the bigger question of a rule change…
    what reason is there for a goalie to bounce the ball anyway? and what if he lets it bounce two or three times without catching it between bounces? under current rules its still “in his possession” but i think a forward should have every right to come in and nick it…

  5. Nowadays, Victorious at soccer! You need good work ethic. You need to train hard, and focus on your play. It has the power to transform lives, the power to bring a lifetime of joy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>