England, Spain, Russia and Bosnia Qualify For World Cup, While Playoff Spots Decided [VIDEO]

England, Spain, Russia and Bosnia-Herzegovina qualified for FIFA World Cup 2014 tonight, joining the teams who have already qualified — Brazil, United States of America, Australia, Japan, Iran, South Korea, Italy, Netherlands, Argentina, Costa Rica, Colombia, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany.

In Europe, there’s still the playoffs remaining, where the following teams will compete for a chance to reach the World Cup in Brazil — France, Greece, Portugal, Ukraine, Sweden, Iceland, Croatia and Romania. Unfortunately, Denmark — who finished second in their group — didn’t secure a playoff spot because they picked up fewer points than the other second place teams.

The draw to determine who will play what country in the playoffs will be made on Monday in Zurich.

In today’s action, England overcame Poland in a hard fought 2-0 win at Wembley with goals by Wayne Rooney and Steven Gerrard. Spain beat Georgia 2-0. Russia drew 1-1 against Azerbaijan, which was enough to help Russia win the group, while Bosnia-Herzegovina defeated Lithuania 1-0 to stamp their ticket to the FIFA World Cup.

Here are the two England goals that won the match for The Three Lions tonight:

Leave a Reply