Sign up for the free daily World Soccer Talk email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules »

SUN, 11:45AM ET
TUES, 12:30PM ET

Belgium, Germany and Switzerland Qualify For 2014 FIFA World Cup: Watch Belgium’s Celebrations [VIDEO]

belgium team1 600x395 Belgium, Germany and Switzerland Qualify For 2014 FIFA World Cup: Watch Belgiums Celebrations [VIDEO]

On a busy day of World Cup qualifier action, Belgium, Germany and Switzerland will be heading to Brazil next summer to compete in the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

All three nations got the results they needed to book their tickets to Brazil. They’ll be joining the countries who have already qualified, which are Brazil, the United States of America, Argentina, Australia, Costa Rica, Iran, Italy, Japan, Netherlands and South Korea.

Out of the three teams, Belgium was the first nation to qualify for the World Cup today when they defeated Croatia 2-0 thanks to a brace from Everton striker Romelu Lukaku. The second goal by Lukaku, in particular, was a perfect example of how the Belgian combines strength, speed and skill. Watch this goal below, and pay particular attention to his burst of speed when it’s him against the defender racing back to get to the ball.

With the win, Belgium reached the World Cup finals for the first time since 2002. Watch the video below to see the players and coaching staff celebrate, and keep an eye on Lukaku who leads the magnificent Belgian supporters in a chant.

Switzerland, meanwhile, qualified for World Cup 2014 with a 2-1 win against Albania.

And then last but not least, Germany guaranteed qualification for World Cup 2014 with a 3-0 victory against the Republic of Ireland.

In the other matches today, Sweden qualified for the World Cup qualifier playoffs with a victory against Austria. Based on the results today, France are guaranteed a playoff spot at a minimum, while Iceland are one win away from World Cup qualification after defeating Cyprus 2-0.

This entry was posted in Belgium, German National Team, World Cup, World Cup 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>