Record Audience of 852k Watched Manchester City vs Manchester United on NBCSN

One week after NBC Sports recorded its largest viewing audience ever for a Premier League match when 917,000 people watched the September 14 game between Everton and Chelsea on the over-the-air NBC network, NBC has broken its record for the most number of viewers on NBCSN for a Premier League match.

An average of 852,000 viewers watched Manchester City against Manchester United on NBCSN beginning at 11am ET on September 22, according to Sports Business Journal. That smashes the previous record of 536,000 who watched the August 26 game between Manchester United and Chelsea.

The 852,000 viewers for the Manchester derby on NBCSN beat out FOX Sports 1’s top viewed program from the weekend, which was the UFC fight that averaged 722,000 viewers on Saturday night.

In other news, the TV viewing audience for LA Galaxy against Seattle Sounders, featuring two of the biggest teams in Major League Soccer, was viewed by 247,000 people. The match was televised live on NBCSN on Saturday, September 21 at 7:30pm PT/10:30pm ET. Meanwhile, Portland against Columbus (Friday, September 20 at 7pm PT/10pm ET) had an average viewing audience of 131,000.

Here’s our video showing a behind-the-scenes tour of NBC’s studios in Stamford, CT, on a recent Premier League Saturday:

17 Comments

  1. IanCransonsKnees September 24, 2013
    • jtm371 September 24, 2013
  2. saywhat? September 24, 2013
    • Christopher Harris September 24, 2013
  3. Proud Eurosnob September 24, 2013
  4. Dean September 24, 2013
  5. Hickorywind September 24, 2013
  6. Pete Q September 24, 2013
    • Canadian Bacon September 24, 2013
  7. gbewing September 24, 2013
    • Christopher Harris September 24, 2013
  8. Smokey Bacon September 24, 2013
  9. dust September 24, 2013
  10. Mark Finlay September 25, 2013

Leave a Reply