Homegrown Player Lists for 2013/14 Premier League Squads

The 20 teams in the Premier League have unveiled their homegrown players for the 2013/14 season

Before we reveal the homegrown players rule, here’s a refresher on the squad rules thanks to the BBC Sport. Important notes are bolded.

– Clubs register a squad of up to 25 players, which must include at least eight ‘home-grown’ players, at the end of each transfer window.

– Home-grown players do not have to be English; home-grown players are defined as those who “irrespective of nationality or age, have been affiliated to the FA or Welsh FA for a period of three seasons or 36 months prior to 21st birthday

– Clubs can supplement squad with unlimited number of players under the age of 21.

– Players loaned to Football League clubs cannot be replaced, but can regain their spot on return to parent club.

– Rules apply only to Premier League matches, not European, FA Cup or League Cup action

With unlimited use of under-21 players, clubs with a large intake of youth players — even foreign ones — do have advantages under this system. For example, Arsenal did not have to name Jack Wilshere to the squad, and Southampton did not have to name any of their young outstanding English players to the squad. This gives these teams an advantage with deeper squads than those who have a poor academy or lack the resources to buy players from the continent at age 17-18 and integrate them in the club’s youth setup.


Nicklas Bendtner
Kieran Gibbs
Aaron Ramsey
Wojciech Szczesny
Theo Walcott

Aston Villa:

Gabby Agbonlahor
Marc Albrighton
Nathan Baker
Charles N’Zogbia
Joe Bennett
Jordan Bowery
Ciaran Clark
Fabian Delph
Shay Given
Chris Herd
Matthew Lowton
Andras Stieber
Andreas Weimann
Ashley Westwood

Cardiff City:

Don Cowie
Mark Hudson
Joe Lewis
Joe Mason
Nicky Maynard
Simon Moore
Jordon Mutch
Craig Noone
Thomas Smith
Andrew Taylor
Ben Turner
Peter Whittingham


Ryan Bertrand
Gary Cahill
Ashley Cole
Frank Lampard
John Terry

Crystal Palace:

Barry Bannan
Danny Gabbidon
Dwight Gayle
Jack Hunt
Adrian Mariappa
Patrick McCarthy
Dean Moxey
Stuart O’Keefe
Kevin Phillips
Lewis Price
Jason Puncheon
Cameron Jerome
Jerome Thomas
Joel Ward


Darron Gibson
Tony Hibbert
Phil Jagielka
Leon Osman
Leighton Baines
Gareth Barry
James McCarthy


Neil Etheridge
David Stockdale
Aaron Hughes
Matt Briggs
Damien Duff
Steve Sidwell
Scott Parker
Adel Taarabt
Alex Kacaniklic
Darren Bent

Hull City:

Liam Rosenior
Alex Bruce
James Chester
Curtis Davies
Tom Huddlestone
Danny Graham
Jake Livermore
Paul McShane
George Boyd
Joe Dudgeon
Steve Harper
Sone Aluko
Ahmed Elmehamady
Steve Quinn
Aaron McLean
Matty Fryatt


Joe Allen
Steven Gerrard
Jordan Henderson
Glen Johnson
Brad Jones
Martin Kelley
Victor Moses
Danny Sturridge

Manchester City:

Dedryck Boyaya
Gael Clichy
Joe Hart
Joleon Lescott
James Milner
Alex Nimley
Micah Richards
Jack Rodwell
Richard Wright

Manchester United:

Ben Amos
Michael Carrick
Tom Cleverley
Jonny Evans
Ryan Giggs
Chris Smalling
Wayne Rooney
Danny Welbeck
Ashley Young
Darren Fletcher


Shola Ameobi
Paul Dummett
Rob Elliot
Dan Gosling
Tim Krul
James Tavernier
Ryan Taylor
Steven Taylor
Mike Williamson


Daniel Ayala
Ryan Bennett
Mark Bunn
David Fox
Gary Hooper
Johnny Howson
Bradley Johnson
Russell Martin
Carlo Nash
Antony Pilkington
John Ruddy
Michael Turner


Nathaniel Clyne
Jack Cork
Kelvin Davis
Steven Davis
Danny Fox
Adam Lallana
Rickie Lambert
Jay Rodriguez
Morgan Schneiderlen
Jon Forte
Aaron Martin
Billy Sharp


Asmir Begovic
Peter Crouch
Matthew Etherington
Robert Huth
Stephen Ireland
Jermaine Pennant
Ryan Shawcross
Jonathan Walters
Glen Whelan
Andrew Wilkinson
Marc Wilson


Phil Bardsley
Fabio Borini
Wes Brown
Lee Cattermole
Jack Colback
Craig Gardner
Adam Johnson
Seb Larsson
Vito Mannone
John O’Shea
David Vaughan
Keiren Westwood


Leon Britton
Nathan Dyer
Leroy Lita
Garry Monk
Curtis Obeng
Ashley Richards
Wayne Routledge
Neil Taylor
Ashley Williams


Michael Dawson
Jermain Defoe
Aaron Lennon
Kyle Naughton
Jonathan Obika
Danny Rose
Gylfi Sigurdsson
Andros Townsend
Kyle Walker
Simon Dawkins

West Brom:

Chris Brunt
Lee Camp
Luke Daniels
Craig Dawson
Ben Foster
Billy Jones
Shane Long
James Morrison
Boaz Myhill
Steven Reid
Liam Ridgewell
Scott Sinclair
Victor Anichebe

West Ham:

Andy Carroll
Joe Cole
James Collins
Stewart Downing
Stephen Henderson
Matt Jarvis
George McCartney
Mark Noble
Kevin Nolan
Joey O’Brien
Jordan Spence
Matty Taylor
James Tomkins
Ricardo Vaz Te

5 thoughts on “Homegrown Player Lists for 2013/14 Premier League Squads”

  1. haha this is ridiculous.

    Danny Sturridge? Martin Kelley? FACT CHECK FAIL.

    What about Sterling? Ibe? coady? Flanagan? Mclaughlin? Smith? Sinclair? Wisdom? Jones? If you’re going to do a half ars3d job then at least be consistent.

    1. You’re an idiot and obviously didn’t read the top portion or didn’t understand it. Those players aren’t listed by liverpool because they are under 21, to their advantage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *