Gareth Bale Named Player of the Year By Football Writers’ Association: The Daily EPL

Gareth Bale has been named Player of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association, beating Robin van Persie and Juan Mata to the award. It’s Bale’s third award this season after recently winning the PFA Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year awards.

There were also a wide range of votes for the likes of Everton defender Leighton Baines, Pablo Zabaleta of Manchester City, Swansea forward Michu, Manchester United midfielder Michael Carrick and Southampton frontman Rickie Lambert,” said a report.

Luis Suarez received just one vote.

What are your feelings regarding Gareth Bale receiving the award, and whether Robin van Persie or another footballer deserved it instead? Post your opinions in the comments section below.

Here are today’s Premier League news headlines:

The Daily EPL is your morning guide to the latest Premier League news headlines, so you don’t have to spend an hour or more scanning the Internet. We do all the work for you. Read The Daily EPL on EPL Talk every morning to stay on top of all the news that matters.



  1. De Selby May 2, 2013
  2. Mufc77 May 2, 2013
  3. Aaron May 2, 2013
    • Mufc77 May 2, 2013

Leave a Reply