Stoke’s Glenn Whelan to Escape Punishment After Reckless Tackle in FA Cup Against Manchester City: The Nightly EPL

Stoke City footballer Glenn Whelan will escape retrospective punishment from the FA despite his reckless tackle against Manchester City’s Javi Garcia in the FA Cup this past weekend.

Referee Howard Webb saw the foul, which is a key development. According to The Independent newspaper, The FA released a statement last season for a different incident which sets the precedent for further rulings. The FA statement reads “Where at least one of the officials has seen the coming together of players retrospective action is not taken, regardless of whether they have seen the full extent of the challenge. Retrospective action can only be taken in scenarios where none of the match officials saw the players coming together.”

Here’s what Whelan said about the foul after the match: “I don’t think I caught him as much as he was rolling about. Obviously he’s felt it so you have to take that,” he said. “I’ve gone in for the challenge and I don’t think I tried to be dirty but it if it looks that way on TV then I’ll have to hold my hands up.”

If you missed the foul or want to see it again, here it is:

Whelan tackle on Garcia, not even booked by UCL2410

Here are tonight’s Premier League news headlines:

The Nightly EPL is tomorrow’s news today. It’s often tomorrow morning’s British newspaper headlines that are published the night before. We do all the work for you, combing the Internet and aggregating the news for you. Read The Nightly EPL on EPL Talk every night before bed, so you can stay on top of all the news that matters.


3 thoughts on “Stoke’s Glenn Whelan to Escape Punishment After Reckless Tackle in FA Cup Against Manchester City: The Nightly EPL”

  1. Whelan must be on some kind of happy juice if he thinks that wasn’t bad! That was not only a sending off now but would have been in 1976 or 1903! Howard Web said something about not being at the right angle, I ask what angle doesn’t that look like a player jumping in the air both feet leaving the ground and stamping down with all his weight? It doesn’t mater even if he doesn’t touch the player (which he did with both feet!) it’s still a red because of intent. Howard Webb has proved inept at reffing a football match yet again while the F.A again look comical. Player behaving like that should be out of the game that was a attempt to injure, you cannot play a ball by stamping down on it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *