Listen to the World Soccer Talk Podcast review of the Premier League weekend (gameweek 17) »

MON, 12PM ET
JUV
NAP
MON, 3PM ET
STO
CHE
FRI, 7:45AM ET
CHE
WHU
FRI, 10AM ET
MUFC
NUFC
FRI, 10AM ET
BUR
LIV
FRI, 10AM ET
WBA
MCFC

Premier League Saturday, Gameweek 4: Open Thread

number 4 Premier League Saturday, Gameweek 4: Open Thread

It’s back! After a lengthy two week delay, the Premier League returns to rescue us from the boredom of international break. But alas, a lot of the focus today will be on the silly handshake between John Terry/Ashley Cole and Anton Ferdinand. Although Ferdinand is supposedly going to refuse the handshake, I wish Anton would just shake their hands so we can move on and put this whole episode behind us.

Kicking off today’s action in the Premier League (7:45am ET/12:45pm BST) is Norwich City against West Ham. Unfortunately for viewers in the United States, the game has been moved from ESPN2 to ESPN3.com. But the match should be worth watching as we’ll get a chance to see if Chris Hughton has had a chance to boost the morale of his players at Carrow Road to beat a Hammers side that is still smarting from their victory against Fulham a fortnight ago.

At 10am ET/3pm BST today, we have a total of six matches to choose from — including a rare treat of Manchester United and Manchester City playing in separate games at the traditional kick-off time. United plays at home against Wigan, Manchester City plays away at Stoke, while QPR takes on Chelsea at home. In the other matches, Arsenal is at home against Southampton. Swansea travel to Aston Villa, and Fulham plays West Brom at Craven Cottage (in what should be a very open and entertaining match).

This is certainly going to be one of those Saturdays where it’ll be tough to figure out which games to watch since there are so many good ones! Or we’ll be doing a lot of flipping channels back-and-forth.

Last but not least, Sunderland takes on Liverpool at the Stadium of Light in the late kick-off (12:30pm ET/5:30pm BST).

Before, during and after today’s matches, post your rants, raves, questions and observations in the comments section below.


About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →