Sign up for the free daily World Soccer Talk email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules »

SAT, 2:30PM ET

Robin van Persie Named PFA Player of The Year; Kyle Walker Wins Young Player of the Year Award

robin van persie1 Robin van Persie Named PFA Player of The Year; Kyle Walker Wins Young Player of the Year Award

Robin van Persie has been named PFA Player of the Year for the 2011-12 season by the Professional Footballer’s Association.

The Dutch striker has scored 27 goals in the Premier League this season, playing a key role in keeping Arsenal in third place in the league. Van Persie is already Arsenal’s 8th all-time top scorer with a total of 129 goals since he joined the club in 2004. In all competitions this season, he has netted 34 goals.

Van Persie, 28, faces the decision this summer whether to renew his contract at Arsenal, or try to seek a lucrative move to one of the top clubs in Europe. Manchester City has already expressed an interest in signing the brilliant left-footed striker.

RVP beat Wayne Rooney, Joe Hart, Sergio Aguero, Scott Parker and David Silva to win the award.

Meanwhile, the Professional Footballer’s Association also announced Sunday night that Tottenham’s Kyle Walker won the Young Player of the Year Award. The Spurs defender, 21, beat Sergio Aguero, Gareth Bale, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Danny Welbeck and Daniel Sturridge to win the award.

What’s your opinion? Do you think Robin van Persie and Kyle Walker deserved to win the two awards? Share your feedback in the comments section below.

This entry was posted in Arsenal, Leagues: EPL, Tottenham Hotspur. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

10 Responses to Robin van Persie Named PFA Player of The Year; Kyle Walker Wins Young Player of the Year Award

  1. paul says:

    RVP deserved the award, I didn’t see Kyle Walker nicking it from Aguero but overall he deserves it because he has had a really good season. Congrats to both winners.

  2. Andre says:

    RVP had a monster season. He is probably the best player in the world not playing in Spain, in my opinion at least. I get the feeling if Arsenal don’t make a committment to bringing in other players that will help them compete for a trophy in the immediate future he might not stick around. At 28 he is in the heart of the prime of his career and that doesn’t last forever.

    w/r/t young player award sometimes I get the feeling guys like Aguero and Silva and to an extent Hart are passed over because they are seen as mature mid-career players already because they have been around since their teens and win important things. Regardless of actual age Walker feels like a player who is new on the scene. Good for both the winners.

  3. jack says:

    Kyle Walker over Kun Aguero? What a joke.

  4. Marty says:

    RVP completely deserved it for carrying Arsenal to the third in the Premiership this season.

    Walker has had a pretty good campaign, but the only reason Aguero didn’t get it is because he is a foreigner. If Aguero was English he wins hands down.

  5. Ivan says:

    Walker over Aguero? Talk about bias! Unbelievable!!!

  6. Jean says:

    Kyle Walker over Aguero, David Silva, AND Phil Jones?? Whatta joke

  7. dust says:

    Kyle Walker deserved Young player of the year, he has put a great case for him as the best english right back.

    Aguero played well but did not make the impact on his team that Walker did, these are voted by people that actually play the game, people that played against him, and aguero, so they would know.

    Silva was up for player of the year and was beaten by robin van dirty.

    Phil jones LOL he hardly played.

  8. Kody says:

    Richards > Walker.

  9. Kody says:

    It is completely foolish to vote for these awards as early as they do. Would you vote for Man of the Match at half time?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>