Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter for TV schedules, news and more »

SAT, 7:45AM ET
MCFC
CPFC
SAT, 9:30AM ET
WER
BVB
SAT, 10AM ET
AVFC
MUFC
SAT, 10AM ET
BAR
COR
SAT, 10AM ET
TOT
BUR
SAT, 10AM ET
SOU
EVE

Chelsea Scores Second Goal Against Spurs In FA Cup Semi-Final; Did It Cross The Line Or Not? [VIDEO]

In the FA Cup semi-final between Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur on Sunday, Chelsea was awarded a second goal in controversial circumstances after referee Martin Atkinson ruled that the ball had crossed the line.

However in the above video, you can see that the ball was nowhere near to crossing the line.

Plus, in the lead-up to the goal, John Terry pushes a few Tottenham players to get to the ball. A free kick should have been awarded to Tottenham. Instead, the goal was awarded.

Yet again, it’s another example of how FIFA needs to accelerate the implementation of goal-line technology. Incidents like these have been happening for decades. Yet, referees can only call what they see, while everyone else — including the fans in the stadium and at home can see the incident on replay from multiple camera angles.

In a match where there is so much on the line, it’d be a shame if that “ghost goal” would be the difference between the winning and losing side.


This entry was posted in Chelsea, FA Cup, Leagues: EPL, Tottenham Hotspur. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →