Congratulations or Commiserations to the 2011/2012 Championship Newcomers

The new Brighton Stadium

The old season is now well and truly behind us and as we start looking forward to the new it is time to welcome the six teams that will be playing in the Championship next season following promotion from League One or relegation from the Premiership.

A rollercoaster final day of the Premier League last season saw Blackpool and Birmingham relegated along with West Ham United who fell through the trap door the week before.

This season will be a transition for these sides as both West Ham United and Birmingham have changed manager during the close season with Sam Allardyce and Chris Hughton respectively given the responsibility of managing their clubs back to the Premier League.

On a more upbeat note  Brighton & Hove Albion, Southampton and Peterborough have been promoted back to the Championship following successful campaigns in League One.

Brighton & Hove Albion will start their season in a new stadium having finally completed a long and complicated journey from the Withdean Stadium to the brand new 22,000 capacity Falmer Stadium.

So commiserations if you are a fan of a relegated side and congratulations to those promoted best of luck in the Championship next season.

One Response

  1. Ryan June 28, 2011

Leave a Reply