SUN, 8:30AM ET
LEI
MUFC
SUN, 8:30AM ET
TOT
WBA
SUN, 8:45AM ET
ROM
CAL
SUN, 11AM ET
MCFC
CFC
SUN, 11AM ET
EVE
CRY
SUN, 3PM ET
LEV
BAR

World Cup Qualifying: Your Running Commentary

2010 world cup logo World Cup Qualifying: Your Running Commentary

England’s away match today against Croatia is massive for several reasons. First, a loss against Croatia will be a huge blow to England’s hopes of qualifying for the 2010 World Cup. Second, a loss would put immense pressure under Fabio Capello. Third, if England can secure a draw or a win, it’ll be a huge boost of confidence to a team and a nation that haven’t had much to cheer about in so long.

The irony is that most football fans in England and the United States won’t be able to see the big match live unless they’re willing to fork over some sizeable cash to Setanta Sports or In Demand.

Here are some of today’s matches to enjoy:

  • Russia vs Wales, 11am ET/4pm UK (Fox Soccer Channel)
  • Turkey vs Belgium, 2pm ET/7pm UK time (Setanta US)
  • Macedonia vs Holland, 2:30pm ET/7:30pm UK time (Fox Soccer Channel)
  • Croatia v England, 3pm ET/8pm UK time (Pay-per-view and Setanta pub channel)
  • Italy vs Georgia, 2:45pm ET/7:45pm UK time (GolTV)
  • Portugal vs Denmark, 4pm ET/9pm UK time (Setanta US)
  • Spain vs Armenia, 4:50pm ET/9:50pm UK time (GolTV)
  • Slovenia vs Slovakia, 5pm ET/10pm UK time (Fox Soccer Channel)
  • France vs Serbia, 6:45pm ET/11:45pm UK time (Setanta US)
  • USA v Trinidad & Tobago, 8pm ET/1am UK time (ESPN2)
  • Uzbekistan v Australia, 8pm ET/1am UK time (Fox Soccer Channel)
  • Finland v Germany, 8:45pm ET/1:45am UK time (Setanta US)
  • Mexico v Canada, 9pm ET/2am ET UK time (Telemundo)

If you’ll be watching – or have watched – today’s matches, please share your thoughts, insight, opinions and some play-by-play in the comments section below.

Meanwhile, if you’re a fan of U.S. soccer, be sure to head on over to Major League Soccer Talk for a special live chat tonight at 8pm ET featuring the United States against Trinidad and Tobago.

This entry was posted in General, Leagues: EPL and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Christopher Harris

Founder and publisher of World Soccer Talk, Christopher Harris is the managing editor of the site. He has been interviewed by The New York Times, The Guardian and several other publications. Plus he has made appearances on NPR, BBC World, CBC, BBC Five Live, talkSPORT and beIN SPORT. Harris, who has lived in Florida since 1984, has supported Swansea City since 1979. He's also an expert on soccer in South Florida, and got engaged during half-time of a MLS game. Harris launched EPL Talk in 2005, which was rebranded as World Soccer Talk in 2013.
View all posts by Christopher Harris →

5 Responses to World Cup Qualifying: Your Running Commentary

  1. lsmetana says:

    Quick predictions:
    France will not beat Serbia if they play like they did against Austria. They may not beat them even if they have their A game :)

    Canada look like they are done for already. I don't see them winning away to Mexico with their negative tactics. It will be a miracle if this game goes any other way.

    England are going to have an uphill battle just to get a draw as Croatia are a better team at this point. I think Croatia will win with perhaps a 2-1 scoreline.

    The US will probably pull a 1-0 or 2-1 win against T&T but struggle to do so.

    Germany will not have as easy a time with Finland but should still win. 3-0 or 3-1 seems likely.

    Italy will play better against Georgia and pick up another 3 points.

    Turkey should be Belgium but the Turks have been very inconsistent in qualifying in the past couple of campaigns.

    My upset pick would be Denmark getting a draw against Portugal but that's a bit of a longshot.

  2. Kartik says:

    I think England beats Croatia tonight.

    Serbia will defeat France 1-0.

    The US and T&T draw 1-1 with the Soca Warriors dominating the possession but the US nicking a goal on a set piece. Sunil Gulati should then send Roy Keane a thank you card for forcing Yorke to withdraw from the squad.

    Mexico will destroy Canada. 4-0 is my pick, although the game not being at Azteca means the home field advantage Mexico normally enjoys they will not have.

  3. The Gaffer says:

    Fox Soccer Channel commentator Christopher Sullivan needs to know how to pronounce John Toshack's name. Every time he mispronounces it, it grates me. It's TOSH-ack not TOE-shack. Grr!

    Cheers,
    The Gaffer

  4. Sean says:

    Didn’t realize Canada was still in WCQ? I think you mean Honduras. But close.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>