Greece's Euro '08 Squad

Wow, as soon as I finished posting the Dutch squad, Greece came out with their final roster. Tomorrow’s workload is getting lighter by the minute, as now only nine more nations still need to submit their teams.

Greece is the defending champion, and will compete in Group D with Sweden, Spain, and Russia. They’re coached by a German, Otto Rehhagel, who has been in charge since 2001.

Get ready for a lot of “O”‘s and “S”‘s, everyone…

GK (3): Antonios Nikopolidis (Olympiacos), Konstantinos Chalkias (Aris), Alexandros Tzorvas (OFI Crete)

DEF (9): Giourkas Seitaridis (Atlético Madrid), Christos Patsatzoglou, Paraskevas Antzas, and Vasilis Torosidis (Olympiacos), Loukas Vyntra, Nikos Spiropoulos, and Yannis Goumas (Panathinaikos), Traianos Dellas (AEK Athens), Sotirios Kyrgiakos (Eintracht Frankfurt)

MID (5): Angelos Basinas* (Mallorca), Stelios Giannakopoulos (Unattached), Giorgos Karagounis and Alexandros Tziolis (Panathinaikos), Kostas Katsouranis (Benfica)

FWD (6): Georgios Samaras (Celtic), Angelos Charisteas (Nuremberg), Dimitrios Salpigidis (Panathinaikos), Theofanis Gekas (Bayer Leverkusen), Ioannis Amanatidis (Eintracht Frankfurt), Nikolaos Liberopoulos (AEK Athens)


Nine defenders? Hmm..

More on Greece on Thursday.


  1. Barney May 28, 2008
  2. Lonnie May 28, 2008
  3. Michael May 28, 2008

Leave a Reply