Champions League End of Season Awards

ball-uefa-finale.jpgSo, here we go with my version of the 2007-2008 Champions League awards. The English clubs dominate the awards here but I did single out some players from teams that were knocked out earlier in the competition as they gave some great individual performances.

Player Awards
Most Outstanding Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
Most Valuable Player: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
Top Young Player1: Theo Walcott (Arsenal)
Manager of the Year: Zico (Fenerbahce)
Team of the Year:
GK: Manuel Neuer (Schalke 04)
LB: Patrice Evra (Manchester United)
CB: Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United)
CB: John Terry (Chelsea)
RB: Bacary Sagna (Arsenal)
MF: Ryan Babel (Liverpool)
MF: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
MF: Alex (Fenerbahce)
MF: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
ST: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
ST: Fernando Torres (Liverpool)

Subs: GK – Petr Cech (Chelsea), D – Heiko Westermann (Schalke), D – Carles Puyol (Barcelona), MF – Frank Lampard (Chelsea), MF – Andrea Pirlo – (AC Milan), FW – Theo Walcott (Arsenal), FW – Carlos Tevez (Manchester United)

Young Player Award was based on those competitors who were 20 yrs old or younger and had 5 games or less CL experience at start of this past season.


  1. Wale Oluwafemi May 25, 2008
  2. Wale Oluwafemi May 25, 2008
  3. Saint Bora July 24, 2008
  4. Saint Bora July 24, 2008
  5. babe May 8, 2010

Leave a Reply