Sign up for the free daily World Soccer Talk email newsletter for news and soccer TV schedules »

SAT, 11:15AM ET
SUN, 11:15AM ET

CONCACAF Champions League a step forward

Today’s announcement in Miami by Jack Warner of the new Champions League format for North American continental club championship was a major step forward for a confederation whose organization and structure has been poor through the years. As was the case in the early 1990s when the Gold Cup replaced the dated CONCACAF Championship as the national team continental championship, the Champions Cup has been dated for ages now.

The new format with 24 teams who begin the competition will be structured as such:

8 seeded teams get direct byes to the group stage

The other 16 teams play a knock out round to determine which 8 teams join the 8 seeded teams in group play

Following the group stage, two teams from each group will advance to the Quarterfinals in February and from that point through the finals in April. this knock out portion of the tournament will resemble the current CONCACAF Champions Cup.

Two MLS teams have won the Champions Cup, DC United in 1998 and Los Angeles Galaxy in 2000.

About Kartik Krishnaiyer

A lifelong lover of soccer, the beautiful game, he served from January 2010 until May 2013 as the Director of Communications and Public Relations for the North American Soccer League (NASL). Raised on the Fort Lauderdale Strikers of the old NASL, Krishnaiyer previously hosted the American Soccer Show on the Champions Soccer Radio Network, the Major League Soccer Talk podcast and the EPL Talk Podcast. His soccer writing has been featured by several media outlets including The Guardian and The Telegraph. He is the author of the book Blue With Envy about Manchester City FC.
View all posts by Kartik Krishnaiyer →

3 Responses to CONCACAF Champions League a step forward

  1. YankeeRam says:

    So does the Galaxy get a bye straight to the finals now that Beckham is there?

  2. Kartik says:

    It’s the SUM not the CONCACAF events the Galaxy get a bye into. The champions cup and now the champions league will both have a strict qualifying criteria as they always have. This year BTW, Houston’s Champions Cup draw looks good. They are Atlante’s half rather than Pachuca (who DC will have to face in the semis) and so traveling to Cancun for the 2nd leg of that potential tie for Houston will probably be much easier than going to Mexico City or Guadalajara since the passion is different for the game in the Yucatan and the altitude is like home.

  3. GalaxyDevil says:

    Let’s just hope that the MLS shows will in this tournament. The MLS only won the old style of this tournament when all the games were played in the U.S. Hopefully the MLS will see that to be competitive they will need to enlarge the roster.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>