Recognizing Premier League's Best of the Rest

In the fifteen year history of the Premier League, only one club outside of the four horse race has ever won the Premiership title. That was Blackburn Rovers during the 1993-94 season. The chances of a club from outside the top four lifting the trophy in the future are practically nil.

So, to recognize those achievers from “the other 16,” EPL Talk has gone back through the history of the Premier League since its start in the 1992-1993 season and created an award named the Alternative Premier League Trophy (pictured below). Our aim is to recognize their achievements. Sadly, it’s the closest any of them will get to winning the Premier League trophy possibly ever again.

The winners of the AlternativeAlternative Premier League Trophy Premier League Trophy, which goes to those clubs outside the top four who finished in the highest league position (shown in parenthesis), are:

Tottenham Hotspur (5th)

Tottenham Hotspur (5th)

Everton (4th)

Newcastle United (5th)

Newcastle United (3rd)

Newcastle United (4th)

Leeds United (4th)

Leeds United (3rd)

Leeds United (4th)

Leeds United (5th)

Newcastle United (2nd)

Newcastle United (2nd)

Blackburn Rovers (1st)

Blackburn Rovers (2nd)

Aston Villa (2nd)

In all, Newcastle United has won more Alternative Premier League trophies than any other club. Here are the number of times each club has won it:

1. Newcastle United 5
2. Leeds United 4
3. Blackburn 2
4. Tottenham Hotspur 2
5. Aston Villa 1
6. Everton 1

Times have definitely changed for clubs such as Newcastle and Leeds, but they can take some comfort in finishing the best of the rest.

Really there shouldn’t be a need to create such a silly trophy like this in the first place, but it goes to show how ridiculous it is for a league to flourish where you can guarantee that only one of four out of the 20 clubs can win it. Thanks heavens for the relegation battle and Champions League and UEFA Cup spots. Otherwise it would be a boring league indeed.


  1. Simon January 3, 2008
  2. Kartik January 3, 2008
  3. timmyg January 3, 2008
  4. mookie January 3, 2008
  5. cory January 3, 2008

Leave a Reply