Sign up for the free World Soccer Talk daily email newsletter featuring news, TV schedules and more »

FRI, 3:30PM ET
FRI, 3:45PM ET
FRI, 3:45PM ET
FRI, 3:45PM ET
FRI, 3:45PM ET
FRI, 3:45PM ET

Superliga: Night Two

Well my predictions about this competition at least to this point look laughable. Pachuca my pick to win the Superliga controlled the match versus L.A. Galaxy but some fantastic individual play by Landon Donovan and Cobi Jones cost them the game. Then last night, DC United the team I picked to face Pachuca in the August 29th final struggled at home and finally ended in a draw with 10 man Moriela. Recall, that I said that both Moriela and the LA Galaxy did not belong in this event and that both had been included solely for marketing purposes.

Match two last night had a great atmosphere at Robertson Stadium as we saw Houston really take the match to Club America. A great piece of work from Stuart Holden set up an easy finish for Nate Jaqua, and Dwayne DeRossario and Joseph Ngwenya really frustrated Club America’s defenders all night, capping off what was a dominant performance in a 1-0 victory. Eddie Robinson and Craig Waibel also deserve praise for an outstanding night for the Dynamo.

About Kartik Krishnaiyer

A lifelong lover of soccer, the beautiful game, he served from January 2010 until May 2013 as the Director of Communications and Public Relations for the North American Soccer League (NASL). Raised on the Fort Lauderdale Strikers of the old NASL, Krishnaiyer previously hosted the American Soccer Show on the Champions Soccer Radio Network, the Major League Soccer Talk podcast and the EPL Talk Podcast. His soccer writing has been featured by several media outlets including The Guardian and The Telegraph. He is the author of the book Blue With Envy about Manchester City FC.
View all posts by Kartik Krishnaiyer →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>